This is the "Home" page of the "Economist--How to Read Weekly Issues and Find Specific Articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Economist--How to Read Weekly Issues and Find Specific Articles  

Many students are told to read the Economist (London). We have it online. Here's how to access it!
Last Updated: Dec 12, 2014 URL: http://suffolk.libguides.com/Economist Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Access The Economist via Sawyer Library Databases

This guide will describe how to read the Economist  via our databases. Students frequently come up to the Reference Desk and inquire after this renowned news-weekly, based in London.  Their professors (especially in Globalization classes) want them to read each issue and/or track specific recent articles, but the students can't really afford the extra expense of a subscription.

Although it is certainly a good idea for students to stay current on world events and issues via the Economist,  and subscribing makes sense if you can afford it, there is actually no need to personally subscribe while you are a student at Suffolk!

The library has this periodical in physical and various electronic formats. (See this OPAC record for details on the many options.)  Besides getting the magazine delivered, we also have microfilm for backfile.  However, most students will want our current database access, updated with each new issue.

You should NOT go to www.economist.com to get access. (Although some content and lots of comments and several related blogs are available to non-subscribers there.) For best--and most complete issue content--results, you want to come to our database files, which not only allow for on-campus access, but also allow you to authenticate through our proxy server for online access, anywhere, 24/7. (All you need do for remote use is enter your name and Suffolk ID number when prompted.)

Accessing the Economist


When you look for the Economist, or any journal, and you want it online:  Start with our Homepage and the eJournal Locator, which is listed fourth in the finding tools located in the middle of the homepage. (It's also conveniently located in the right column of this very guide.)  The eJournal locator on our homepage is pictured in the below screenshot.

 

 

For the purposes of this guide, you can simply click on THIS LINK to see the results of an eJournal Locator search for economist.

Note, that there are several results, but the first, with (London) in parenthesis is the one you want, as illustrated in this screen shot.

When you look at the multiple access options for any journal, pay attention to the date range available.  Luckily, in the case of the Economist, all the entries say to present, so although the date availability might vary widely if you were looking for OLDER articles, it doesn't matter at all which database you choose for current articles.  Academic OneFile, a Gale-Cengage database, usually gets the latest issue in a timely manner.  But ABI/INFORM, a ProQuest Database, works equally well. 

 

 

When you click a link from the eJournal Locator to Academic OneFile, the landing page looks like the image below.

Note that to simply browse through ALL the contents of a specific dated issue, you can simply click on the date-link of the issue in the mid-screen list.  Or, if you are trying to track s a specific article, you could use the Search Within Publication search box to the upper left (as above).  One or two unusual words out of the citation you were given will often work fine.  You may also do and Advanced Search (look for the link in the orange bar in the top frame).  An Advanced Search allows you to combine a specific publication with certain field search for author or title words and/or dates.

 

 

In ABI/INFORM, the landing page will look a bit different.  See below:



Here, too, you can either expand and browse issues by date OR do a search within this publication query by entering it in the search box.

When you do a keyword search within a magazine like the Economist, you are likely to get more than one result.  So make sure you get the article you are looking for.  Both Gale and ProQuest databases do an initial sort by date (most recent first), but you can change the sort as needed.

This process may sound more complicated than it is. It really is easy.  Also, although it doesn't look like the paper magazine (no illustrations or ads), all the articles in each paper issue are here.

 


 

Want to Read the Economist Every Week?  Consider an Alert

Databases often allow for users to set up their own account where they can store materials in folders, save searches, and create alerts and feeds. 

In Gale databases, you must first set up an account to get article links emailed to you.  But ProQuest allows any authorized user to set up an alert without an account.


The above screenshots illustrate where to click in each database to start the alert process.

We pay thousands of dollars for this type of expensive institutional access specifically to help our students and faculty, so take advantage of it! And as always, if you have questions about this, check in with us at the Reference Desk.

Quick Contact Info

Profile Image
Mildred F. Sawyer Library
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Sawyer Library Reference Desk
617-573-8532
Send Email
 

eJournal Search

Want to see whether we have online access to a particular periodical?

 

Business Source Complete

 

Catalog Search


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip