This is the "Home" page of the "Financial Times--How to Request Email Alerts of Daily Headlines" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Financial Times--How to Request Email Alerts of Daily Headlines  

ABI/INFORM Complete and Academic OneFile offer email alerts for the Financial Times (London); this guide shows you how to set them up!
Last Updated: Aug 14, 2014 URL: http://suffolk.libguides.com/FT_Daily Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Political Science Complete

 

EconLit with Full Text

 

JSTOR Search

 

Business Source Complete

 

Sage eReference

 

Catalog Search


 

eJournal Search

Want to see whether we have online access to a particular periodical?

 

Access the Financial Times (London) via Library Databases

This guide will describe how to set up "alerts" for the Financial Times (London) that will send links to the latest issue of the newspaper to your email address. Please note that database access to Financial Times comes with a one month delay.

You should NOT go to www.ft.com to get access unless you want to personally subscribe to receive same-day content or wish to browse the limited amounts of free content available to visitors. You want to come to our database files, which not only allow for on-campus access, but also allow you to authenticate through our proxy server for online access, anywhere, 24/7. (All you need to do for off-campus use is enter your name and Suffolk ID number when prompted.)

 

Accessing the Financial Times

The library has the paper in physical and various electronic formats. (See this OPAC record for details on the many options.)  Besides getting the paper delivered, three major content aggregators provide full-text of editorial content from the paper.

Generally, when tracking online issues of a periodical, you start by going to our Online Catalog (OPAC) or eJournal Portal and search for the periodical title you are interested in accessing. However, this guide provides direct shortcuts to the Financial Times in two specific databases: ABI/INFORM Complete, and Academic OneFile.

The three vendors that provide complete Financial Times access are Gale, ProQuest and LexisNexis. Unfortunately, LexisNexis Academic does not allow for email alerts, nor does Gale's Business Insights: Essentials database. Therefore, this guide provides instructions to generate an email alert for the Financial Times through ProQuest's ABI/INFORM Complete and Gale's Academic OneFile databases. After evaluation, ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest) is probably the best choice, since their alerts are easier to manage and the results are more user friendly.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip