Instructions
- Go to MySuffolk, http://www.suffolk.edu/mysuffolk
- Log in
- Click on the tab for Blackboard

- Click on Open in a New Window
- Under My Courses, click on the title of the course to which you would like to add a link to reserve readings.
- In the left column, click on Course Media
- Move your mouse over Build Content
- Select Content Folder (recommended)
- In the menu that opens, create a name for your folder, such as Readings
- Click

- Click on the new folder's name.
- Minimize Blackboard
- Start up another browser window (or, open another browser tab)
- Go to the Sawyer Library's homepage
(http://www.suffolk.edu/sawlib/sawyer.htm) - Click on the link for Databases by Subject (http://www.suffolk.edu/sawlib/oncampdb.htm).
- Click on a relevant subject area.
- Click on the link for a database.
- To obtain the permanent link to an article in the database you have chosen, follow the instructions on the relevant tab of the Sawyer Library Guide, Persistent URLs (PURLs) -- How to Create Them, available at: http://suffolk.libguides.com/permanentlinking.
- Make sure to copy the PURL
- Follow the instructions on the relevant tab of the Persistent URLs guide for copying the Permanent URL.
To be accessible on- and off-campus, a correctly formatted article-level persistent URL must begin with "http://0-" and include "library.law.suffolk.edu" AFTER the vendor domain. Therefore, a correctly-formatted PURL would look like this example:
http://0-search.epnet.com.library.law.suffolk.edu/direct.asp?an=10236180
- Return to Blackboard.
- Mouse over Build Content
- Select URL
- In the window that opens, all fields marked with a
must be completed. - Paste the URL into the field labelled URL
- Scroll down to part 3, Options.
- Reset the option, Open in a New Window to Yes
This is critical -- if you do not do this, the link will not work from off-campus.

- Click
at the bottom of the page. - When you are done, the link should look something like this:
Rationale
- The Sawyer Library has access to millions of full text, scholarly articles in its tuition-supported subscription-based databases.
- a persistent URL (PURL) can link directly to the article level.
- copyright clearance is included for all of these full text articles.
- Helps direct the student to exactly what you want them to read.
- Saves the student some money if you can replace articles with course packets.
Scope
- Almost every database has linkable full text articles you can include on your reading lists, but not all databases enable persistent URLs.
- Not all articles are available in full text.
- There are different full text formats -- the most common are text, text with graphics, and .pdf (an image of the document as originally published).
Please Note
each database handles PURLs differently. Most databases explain their process in their help screens. If you cannot determine how to create a PURL for an article you want, please contact Amy Dumouchel in the Sawyer Library at ext. 1120 or by email at adumouchel@suffolk.edu

Loading...
