Sawyer Library Help & Research Guides - Browse By Librarian
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  
Academic Libraries: Overview for New and Returning Students
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Feb 3, 2017
This guide is intended for primarily for adult students, who are just starting or returning to college after many years.
African American Genealogy Resource Guide
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Jun 7, 2016
This guide is to assist students who are studying genealogy within the context of African American history.
African American Studies Resource Guide
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Sep 27, 2016
This guide provides selected information resources in support of BLKST / HST- 469: 'African American Life-Slave & Free.' These resources include both those useful to the study of historical events and those appropriate for researching current issues.
Citations: Deciphering and Using Them
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Apr 29, 2016
How to read a citation, and then locate the cited item.
Company Research
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Mar 16, 2017
Country Information in Euromonitor's Passport
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Aug 26, 2014
Note: Passport has redesigned its interface, but the features described here remain much the same. Also, many thanks to Chad Boeninger of Ohio University Libraries, for his Business Blog videos on GMID.
Current Issues: Pro and Con
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Feb 17, 2017
Library databases, internet sites, and reference books, for researching controversial issues and topics.
Data: Finding Data within Sawyer Library Resources (and on the web)
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Dec 16, 2016
This guide points to selected reference sources and periodical databases, provided by Suffolk University's Sawyer Library, which contain significant amounts of data and statistical content.
Database Links without the Proxy
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Sep 29, 2016
If our Proxy Server is down or you have other database connection issues ON campus, these three pages of links will allow you to access our many databases. Unfortunately, these links will NOT work OFF campus.
Database Quirks
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Jan 6, 2017
Comparison and contrast between EBSCO's Business Source Complete, and ProQuest's ABI-Inform.
English as a Second Language Resource Guide
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Nov 19, 2015
Although intended for ESL students, this guide also points to general sources on English usage, which are useful for all of us.
Entrepreneurship and Small Business
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Mar 16, 2017
Ethical Use of Information: A Short Introduction
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
Here are a few notes and links on the proper use of information--especially in an academic setting.
French, German, & Spanish Studies Resource Guide
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Feb 24, 2017
This guide provides selected information resources for French, German, and Spanish studies. Included are the Mildred F. Sawyer Library subscription reference and periodical databases, websites, and a brief list of print resources.
GEAR-UP Day at Suffolk
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Apr 14, 2016
Information Literacy and Library Skills.
GIS: Geographic Information Science/Systems
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Sep 29, 2016
Selected resources on GIS, with an emphasis on materials available online. Note: Online books and databases are accessible with a current Suffolk University ID.
Globalization [SIB-101]
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Mar 16, 2017
HST 200 Spring 2017
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Feb 28, 2017
HST 200: Garrity Decision and Boston's Busing Crisis -Research Resources
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Oct 7, 2015
Resources available through Suffolk University's Moakley Archive & Institute and the Mildred F. Sawyer Library.
HST-483 Death, Disease, Healing
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Nov 5, 2015
Industry Information in Euromonitor's Passport
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Aug 26, 2014
Note: Passport has redesigned its interface, but the features described here remain much the same. Also, many thanks to Chad Boeninger of Ohio University Libraries, for his Business Blog videos on GMID.
Industry Information Resource Guide
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Mar 16, 2017
Information Literacy
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Apr 29, 2016
International Trade and Business Resource Guide
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Feb 17, 2017
This guide displays best in Mozilla Firefox.
Management 419, Suffolk University
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Mar 16, 2017
MBA 710 - Boston Area Clusters
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Sep 22, 2016
MBA 750 AE/W1
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Mar 16, 2017
Peer Review and Primary Literature: An Introduction
by Sonia Didriksson, Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Aug 6, 2015
What makes an Article "Peer-Reviewed" or "Primary"?
Physics Resource Guide
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Sep 29, 2016
Psychology Resource Guide
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Oct 19, 2016
Radiation Therapy Resource Guide
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Mar 11, 2017
SBS 100 careerSTART
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Aug 25, 2015
Support for the Library component of SBS 100.
SF-1140-A "Mercy Mercy Me"
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated May 25, 2016
Library resources covering environmental science topics and art / design / art history topics.
The ACM Digital Library
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Sep 29, 2016
This is a brief guide on the use of the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library.
Upward Bound @ Suffolk
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Aug 19, 2015
New Books at the Sawyer Library
by Amy Dumouchel - Last Updated Apr 9, 2015
Citation Tools in Sawyer Library Databases
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated May 29, 2015
How to Create Formatted Citations Using Database Tools in Our Online Resources
Economist--How to Read Weekly Issues and Find Specific Articles
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Dec 12, 2014
Many students are told to read the Economist (London). We have it online. Here's how to access it!
Financial Times--How to Request Email Alerts of Daily Headlines
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Aug 14, 2014
ABI/INFORM Complete and Academic OneFile offer email alerts for the Financial Times (London); this guide shows you how to set them up!
Library eBooks & Journal Articles Downloaded onto your Tablet or eReader
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Dec 2, 2016
Learn how to put ebooks from library resources, like eBrary or the IMF eLibrary on your personal device.
News Resource Guide
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated May 29, 2015
Databases and Web Resources for General and Science News
Nonprofits, Philanthropic Organizations and Grant Writing Resource Guide
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Feb 2, 2017
Information on Nonprofit Organizations and Charitable Groups, as well as Grant Writing
Peer Review and Primary Literature: An Introduction
by Sonia Didriksson, Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Aug 6, 2015
What makes an Article "Peer-Reviewed" or "Primary"?
Periodicals in the Sawyer Library (3rd Floor Collections)
by Sarah Griffis, Beata Panagopoulos - Last Updated Jan 21, 2016
This guide will help you navigate the journals, magazines, microforms, newspapers, and other research tools held in the Sawyer Library periodicals collection.
Psychology Research Article--How to Recognize One
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Jul 14, 2014
Primary Research Studies in Scholarly Journals have Certain Common Attributes--A Few are Detailed Here
Public Administration Resource Guide
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Jan 26, 2017
Sawyer Library--Maps to Find Us (Plus Info and Photos)
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Aug 27, 2015
Where We are Located in the Heart of Boston, and What You'll Find Here.
Sociology Research Article--How to Recognize One
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Jul 14, 2014
What are the Characteristics of a Scholarly Research Study in the Social Sciences?
Tax Forms and Useful Links
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Mar 11, 2015
Need to Find Forms, File Online or Find Tax Help?
Wall Street Journal -- How to Read Current Articles via ProQuest
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Aug 27, 2015
Take advantage of free access to WSJ articles while you are at Suffolk!
Women's Studies
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Oct 27, 2016
This guide provides information about and links to resources useful to Women's Studies topics.
Periodicals in the Sawyer Library (3rd Floor Collections)
by Sarah Griffis, Beata Panagopoulos - Last Updated Jan 21, 2016
This guide will help you navigate the journals, magazines, microforms, newspapers, and other research tools held in the Sawyer Library periodicals collection.
Accounting Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Feb 17, 2017
American History Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Nov 22, 2016
Boston History Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Jul 23, 2016
Business Law Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Jan 22, 2017
Citing Your Sources - Basic Legal Citation for Non-Law Students
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Dec 8, 2014
This guide is an introduction to legal citation using Web resources. It primarily refers to The Bluebook citation system.
Communication Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Jul 31, 2016
Country Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Feb 17, 2017
Criminal Justice Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Aug 8, 2016
Economics Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Feb 17, 2017
Education Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Nov 29, 2015
Environmental Science Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Feb 17, 2017
Faculty Tools
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Jan 22, 2017
Online Resources for Citation and Journal Analysis and for Identifying Publishing Opportunities and Funding
Finance Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Feb 17, 2017
Full-Text Journal Articles: How to Track Them From a Citation
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Jun 12, 2015
What Database has the Article You are Looking For? This Guide Explains How to Check.
Harvard Citation Style (Author-Date Style)
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Nov 22, 2016
This Guide is a brief introduction to the Harvard Citation Style.
Health Administration Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Jul 23, 2016
Hours of the Mildred F. Sawyer Library
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Aug 26, 2015
Regular Hours and Special Alerts
Immigration Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Feb 17, 2017
Microfilm and Microfiche: Reading, Scanning, Printing, and Saving
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated May 24, 2014
How to use the microform readers to save, print, read, and scan articles on microfilm and microfiche.
Mobile Resources
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Sep 29, 2016
Music Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Jul 31, 2016
Mythology and Folklore Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Oct 28, 2016
Online Catalog (OPAC): A Guide to Use
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Jun 4, 2015
Tips on Using the Online Catalog and an Introduction to the Library of Congress Classification System
Open Educational Resources
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Jan 27, 2017
Open-access (OA) literature is understood to be online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions. This guide links to free, open resources in higher education and includes websites, teaching materials, videos, books, and more.
Paralegal Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Nov 22, 2016
Persistent URLs in Blackboard
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Mar 20, 2014
Philosophy Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Oct 28, 2016
Presidential Elections
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Oct 23, 2016
RefWorks Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Oct 28, 2016
Religion Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Oct 23, 2016
Sociology Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Jul 23, 2016
Subscribing to Journal RSS Feeds
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Sep 17, 2014
Tax Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Oct 23, 2016
World History Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Oct 23, 2016
African Studies Resource Guide
by Sarah Smith - Last Updated Aug 25, 2016
Biography Resource Guide
by Sarah Smith - Last Updated Aug 25, 2016
Botany Resource Guide
by Sarah Smith - Last Updated Aug 25, 2016
Business Ethics Resource Guide
by Sarah Smith - Last Updated Aug 25, 2016
Citing Your Souces-MLA Style 8th Edition
by Sarah Smith - Last Updated Sep 29, 2016
Citing Your Sources - ASA Style
by Sarah Smith - Last Updated Aug 25, 2016
Formatting guidance for American Sociological Association citations.
Computing on Campus
by Sarah Smith - Last Updated Oct 18, 2016
Hours, locations, and information about using the undergrad and Business School Computer Labs on campus.
Finding Images Resource Guide
by Sarah Smith - Last Updated Aug 25, 2016
General Science Resources
by Sarah Smith - Last Updated Aug 25, 2016
Science Reference Rsources for Non-Science Majors!
How Things Work & How Products Are Made: A Resource Guide
by Sarah Smith - Last Updated Aug 25, 2016
How Products Work, How Products Are Manufactured, and Product Innovation.
Interior Design Resource Guide
by Sarah Smith - Last Updated Aug 25, 2016
LGBTQ Studies Resources Guide
by Sarah Smith - Last Updated Aug 25, 2016
Selected library resources on all things Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer.
Literature Reviews - An Introduction
by Sarah Smith - Last Updated Aug 25, 2016
What is a literature review? How can I find one in the library databases?
Mathematics Resource Guide
by Sarah Smith - Last Updated Aug 25, 2016
American Literature Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Oct 28, 2016
Art History Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Oct 28, 2016
ArtStor Database
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Mar 25, 2015
This guide provides basic information regarding registering for ArtStor and sources for information on using ArtStor.
Asian American Studies Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Oct 28, 2016
Asian Studies Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Oct 28, 2016
Biology Research Article--How to Recognize One
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Sep 15, 2014
Primary Research Studies in Scholarly Journals have Certain Common Attributes--A Few are Detailed Here
Biology Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Nov 30, 2015
Career, Job, & Internship Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Jun 4, 2016
Chemistry Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Jun 11, 2015
Citing Your Sources - APA Style
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Nov 30, 2015
CJN 101: Introduction to Communication (Suffolk University)
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Sep 3, 2014
Recommended for students in Suffolk University's "Introduction to Communication" course (CJN-101).
College & University Directories
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Jun 23, 2015
Computer Science Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Oct 28, 2016
English Literature Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Oct 28, 2016
Film and Popular Culture Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Mar 25, 2015
Forensic Science Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Jun 11, 2015
Graphic Novel Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Oct 28, 2016
Marine Science Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Aug 22, 2013
Theater Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Oct 27, 2016
Zoology Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014

What Are Sawyer Library LibGuides?

The Mildred F. Sawyer Library LibGuides are created and maintained by Sawyer Library Reference Librarians. They offer targeted research suggestions for Suffolk University students, faculty, and staff. Most of our guides cover a broad subject area and generally include descriptive annotations and links to high-quality library databases as well as print and selected general web resources. Other guides provide information about the Library, discuss particular research tasks or provide tips on using specific technologies.

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts