Health Administration Resource Guide: Research Centers and Policy Institutes

The NIHCM Foundation is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization seeking to improve the quality of America's health care system through research, policy analysis, and educational activities. This website offers full-text research publications, news, and extensive web links.

Rand is a nonprofit research organization, and the health division conducts research on health policy and decision making. Publications include full-text congressional newsletters and searchable journal abstracts with some full-text. Rand's surveys and tools are available in full-text.

The Alliance is a nonprofit, nonpartisan group whose goal is to provide information on health care issues to elected officials, journalists, and policy analysts. Publications, issue-briefs, and news are available in full-text.

A nonprofit, private foundation which focuses on health care issues and conducts its own research. Health care topics covered include health insurance costs, Medicaid and Medicare, HIV, prescription drugs, state health policy, and more. Reports and surveys are available in full-text. Includes State Health Facts , containing state data on health and health policy.

"The largest philanthropy devoted exclusively to health and health care in the United States." Concentrates on grantmaking in health care access, quality of care, community health, and substance abuse. Provides some searchable, full-text grant results reports and briefs, newsletters, occasional papers, and other publications. This site provides access to the RWJF Publications.

NBER, National Bureau of Economic Research, is a private, nonprofit, research organization. Its "Health Economics Program” emphasizes economics of substance use, the economics of obesity, economic models of the determinants of health, and the determinants of the cost of medical care. Free downloadable working papers are provided. Suffolk community members may access and download from the NBER Working Papers database

The Institute is a group of faculty and staff at Georgetown University who conduct research on health policy and health services. Research topics covered include Medicare and Medicaid, consumer protection, health insurance, hospitals, long-term care, and more. Some publications and articles are available in full-text.

The Commonwealth Fund is a private foundation, supporting research on health and social issues and making grants to improve health care practice and policy. This website offers the full-text of publications, data, surveys, program summaries, and news.