Skip to main content

RefWorks Resource Guide: Direct Export from Selected Database Vendors

Direct Export from Selected Database Vendors

Some databases allow the user to directly export references into RefWorks following a search. There are some additional steps, however, which must be taken in order to be certain that all citations are complete.

Basic Instructions for Using all Direct Exporting Databases:

1. Records are exported into your Last Imported Folder. You will want to check each record in order to determine if all information is included based on the citation style you will choose (APA 6th, MLA 6th, etc.).

2. To select an Output Style (citation style), click the Edit button on the right side of the first record in the folder.

3. Use the drop-down menu to access the Output Style Manager. Select your preferred citation style for your folder list, and view the records. Provide information in each field that pertains to your citation style, if this data has not been included with the Direct Export.

4. To edit records from Last Imported Folder or any folder, you may globally edit the list or edit each record separately.

5. For global editing, select All in List and click Global Edit. Choose each Field (from the drop-down menu) before editing.

6. To edit each record separately, select the Edit button from the right side of the Reference List page.

 

Specific Database Instructions

ArtStor:
Pop-ups must be enabled to export to RefWorks, and the Firefox browser works best.
1. While on a thumbnail page, select images by clicking on them once; a colored border will surround the selected images.
2. Choose Tools menu and click on the toolbar and choose Save Selected Images as Citations.
3. Choose Tool menu again, and click on view and export citations.
4. From the export options list, click on Directly Export Citations into RefWorks.
5. Sign in to your RefWorks account.
6. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder

Cambridge Companions Online:
1. Select the book title.
2. Under Tools, select Export Citation
3. Select RefWorks (Direct Export)
4. Click Export.
5. Your records should automatically appear in the Last Imported folder.

Cambridge Journals Online:
1. Select the item(s) you wish to save.
2. Select Export Citation(s).
3. Choose Yes in the Include Abstract for this citation option.
4. Select RefWorks (Direct Export)
5. Click Export.
6. Your records should automatically appear in the Last Imported folder.

CQ Publisher: CQ Researcher, CQ Weekly, CQ Congress Collection and CQ Political Reference Suite, except Washington Information Directory)
1. Click “Cite Now!” button. This will bring up a new window that shows you the citation for the article.
2. At the bottom of the “Cite Now!” window is a drop-down menu entitled “Export Citation to.” Select RefWorks from the list of options.
3. Log in to your RefWorks account.
4. Records will appear in Last Imported Folder

Credo Reference
1. Conduct search.
2. Click Save citations.
3. Click Saved Results ( toolbar).
4. Choose Export to RefWorks.
5. Sign onto your RefWorks account.
6. These references will appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Ebrary Books
1. Create an account
2. Click My Settings
3. Select Show RefWorks button
4. Conduct a search, and from the search screen results, click the RefWorks button
5. Sign on to your RefWorks account
6. Your references will appear in the Last Imported Folder

EBSCO: AAS Historical Periodicals Collection, Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, SocIndex with Full Text, Communication & Mass Media Complete, MLA Bibliography, EconLit with Full Text, Political Sceince Complete, Public Administration Abstracts, Education Research Complete, GalleryWatch CRS Reports, Health Source-Consumer Edition, ERIC, Mental Measurements Yearbook, PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, MEDLINE, Science Reference Center, GreenFILE, Philosopher’s Index, LGBT Life with Full Text, Gender Studies Database. Index to Legal Periodicals, and Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective
1. Check Add to Folder icon for every result you choose to save.
2. Check the Folder icon in the upper right corner
3. Select the references to export
4. Check the Export icon
5. Choose Direct Export to RefWorks
6. Click the Save button
7. Sign in to your RefWorks account.
8. These records will appear in the Last Imported Folder

Emerald
1. Conduct a search.
2. Click Add to Marked List (next to the Session button).
3. Click Marked List on the left side of the screen.
4. Click Export Options.
5. Choose Export to Refworks.
6. Sign into your RefWorks account.
7. These records will appear in the Last Imported Folder.


Gale (Cengage): Academic OneFile, General Reference Center Gold, Health Reference Center Academic, Gale Virtual Reference, Massachusetts History Online, Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center, Literature Resource Center, Global Issues in Context, LitFinder, and Educator’s Reference Complete.
Firefox browser works best, but you must allow pop-ups.
1. Select those references you want to save
2. Click Marked Items located on right tab near the top of the page
3. Select Citation Tools icon from, located near the top on the right side
4. Choose RefWorks
5. Click Export
6. Sign in to your RefWorks account
7. These references will appear in the Last Imported Folder

HeinOnline (Law Review Articles Only):
1. Choose an article for export, and click Save/Bookmark in the dark blue area above the article.
2. Click the Save to MyHein Bookmarks button.
3. Creating an account is not necessary. Simply click the MyHein tab.
4. At MyHein Saved Bookmarks page, check the bookmarked article you want to export to RefWorks.
5. Click the down arrow in the Options select box and click Export to RefWorks.
6. Click the Submit button.
7. A new window will open. click the Export to RefWorks button.


Highwire Press:
1. Select references to save
2. Click on Download Citations to Citation Manager at the bottom of the page
3. Choose RefWorks (not the link below the word RefWorks)
4. Sign in to your RefWorks account
5. These records will be imported into your Last Imported Folder

LEXIS/NEXIS Academic:
1. Mark records to save
2. Click Export Bibliographic References (far right icon)
3. Choose RefWorks Direct Export
4. Sign on to your RefWorks account
5. These references will appear in the Last Imported Folder

JSTOR:
1. Mark citations to save
2. Click “Export this Citation”
3. Select RefWorks
4. Sign in to your RefWorks account
5. These references will appear in the Last Imported Folder

Project Muse:
1. Select references
2. Click Save Marked Results button
3. Click View Saved Results (on right column)
4. Click RefWorks button and Export
5. Sign in to your RefWorks account
6. These references will appear in the Last Imported Folder

ScienceDirect
1. Select references from search results
2. Click Export Citations
3. Select RefWorks Direct Export
4. Sign on to your RefWorks account
5. These references will appear in the Last Imported Folder

Proquest: ABI Inform, BioOne Abstracts & Indexes, Boston Globe 1980-present, Wall Street Journal 1984-present, New York Times 1851-2009, Wall Street Journal 1889- 1994, Hoover's Company Profiles, Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, PILOTS
1. Mark references
2. Choose Export
3. Select RefWorks
4. Sign in to your RefWorks account
5. These records will appear in the Last Imported Folder 

Wiley Online Library
1. Mark records
2. Select Export/Save (top right side)
3. Choose RefWorks
4. This link goes to the RefWorks institutional sign-in page


OECD iLibrary
1. Select a citation (Direct export is available one citation at a time only)
2. Click Cite this Publication
3. Choose Import into RefWorks
4. Sign on to your RefWorks account
5. Reference appears in Last Imported Folder

Worldcat: (Direct export from the Suffolk University OPAC does not work).
Limit Availability to "Items in my library" (Suffolk) before starting:
1. Mark records
2. Select Marked Records button
3. Choose Export – select RefWorks
4. Sign in to your RefWorks account
5. These records will appear in the Last Imported Folder

Exporting from Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com/)
One Time Set Up:
1. From Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com
2. Click on Preferences
3. Find the Bibliography Manager section (near the buttom of the page)
4. Click in the button next to Show Links to Import Citations Into
5. Select Refworks from the drop down menu
6. Save Preferences

Subject Guide

Connie Sellers