Sawyer Library Help & Research Guides - Browse By Subject
Choose a subject for a list of related guides.

  Search: 
 
General Resources
Academic Libraries: Overview for New and Returning Students
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated May 7, 2014
This guide is intended for primarily for adult students, who are just starting or returning to college after many years.
African American Genealogy Resource Guide
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Nov 18, 2014
This guide is to assist students who are studying genealogy within the context of African American history.
Biography Resource Guide
by Lindsey Nichols - Last Updated Oct 1, 2013
Biology Research Article--How to Recognize One
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Sep 15, 2014
Primary Research Studies in Scholarly Journals have Certain Common Attributes--A Few are Detailed Here
Career, Job, & Internship Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Jun 25, 2014
Citation Tools in Sawyer Library Databases
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated May 14, 2014
How to Create Formatted Citations Using Database Tools in Our Online Resources
Citations: Deciphering and Using Them
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Feb 27, 2014
How to read a citation, and then locate the cited item.
Citing Your Sources - APA Style
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Jul 31, 2012
Citing Your Sources - ASA Style
by Lindsey Nichols - Last Updated Aug 11, 2014
Formatting guidance for American Sociological Association citations.
Citing Your Sources - Basic Legal Citation for Non-Law Students
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Dec 8, 2014
This guide is an introduction to legal citation using Web resources. It primarily refers to The Bluebook citation system.
Citing Your Sources - MLA Style
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Nov 30, 2012
College & University Directories
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Apr 29, 2014
Computing on Campus
by Lindsey Nichols - Last Updated Nov 3, 2014
Hours, locations, and information about using the undergrad and Business School Computer Labs on campus.
Country Information in Euromonitor's Passport
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Aug 26, 2014
Note: Passport has redesigned its interface, but the features described here remain much the same. Also, many thanks to Chad Boeninger of Ohio University Libraries, for his Business Blog videos on GMID.
Country Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Oct 29, 2014
Current Issues: Pro and Con
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Nov 18, 2014
Library databases, internet sites, and reference books, for researching controversial issues and topics.
Data: Finding Data within Sawyer Library Resources
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Jun 25, 2014
This guide points to selected reference sources and periodical databases, provided by Suffolk University's Sawyer Library, which contain significant amounts of data and statistical content.
Database Links without the Proxy
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated May 7, 2014
If our Proxy Server is down or you have other database connection issues ON campus, these three pages of links will allow you to access our many databases. Unfortunately, these links will NOT work OFF campus.
Database Use Tips: Business Source Complete and ABI/INFORM Complete
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Apr 5, 2013
This guide compares the default settings and search features of two major (business oriented) periodical databases.
Economist--How to Read Weekly Issues and Find Specific Articles
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Dec 12, 2014
Many students are told to read the Economist (London). We have it online. Here's how to access it!
English 101: The Research Paper, Social Issue Topics and the Bedford Reader
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Oct 28, 2014
How to research social issues and other topics suggested by the Bedford Reader...or your own interests
English as a Second Language Resource Guide
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Nov 19, 2014
Although intended for ESL students, this guide also points to general sources on English usage, which are useful for all of us.
Ethical Use of Information: A Short Introduction
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Jun 5, 2014
Here are a few notes and links on the proper use of information--especially in an academic setting.
Faculty Tools
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Dec 8, 2014
Online Resources for Citation and Journal Analysis and for Identifying Publishing Opportunities and Funding
Finding Images Resource Guide
by Lindsey Nichols - Last Updated Jun 30, 2014
Full-Text Journal Articles: How to Track Them From a Citation
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Jan 23, 2014
What Database has the Article You are Looking For? This Guide Explains How to Check.
General Science Resources
by Lindsey Nichols - Last Updated Sep 29, 2014
Science Reference Rsources for Non-Science Majors!
GIS: Geographic Information Science/Systems
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Dec 12, 2014
Selected resources on GIS, with an emphasis on materials available online. Note: Online books and databases are accessible with a current Suffolk University ID.
Graphic Novel Resource Guide
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Apr 30, 2014
Hours of the Mildred F. Sawyer Library
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Sep 10, 2014
Regular Hours and Special Alerts
How Things Work & How Products Are Made: A Resource Guide
by Lindsey Nichols - Last Updated Sep 29, 2014
How Products Work, How Products Are Manufactured, and Product Innovation.
Immigration Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Oct 29, 2014
LGBTQ Studies Resources Guide
by Lindsey Nichols - Last Updated Sep 29, 2014
Selected library resources on all things Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer.
Library eBooks & Journal Articles Downloaded onto your Tablet or eReader
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Dec 12, 2014
Learn how to put ebooks from library resources, like eBrary or the IMF eLibrary on your personal device.
Library Introduction & Instruction
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Oct 8, 2014
Literature Reviews - An Introduction
by Lindsey Nichols - Last Updated Sep 13, 2012
What is a literature review? How can I find one in the library databases?
Microfilm and Microfiche: Reading, Scanning, Printing, and Saving
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated May 24, 2014
How to use the microform readers to save, print, read, and scan articles on microfilm and microfiche.
Mobile Resources
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Dec 11, 2014
News Resource Guide
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Oct 28, 2014
Databases and Web Resources for General and Science News
Online Catalog (OPAC): A Guide to Use
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Aug 27, 2013
Tips on Using the Online Catalog and an Introduction to the Library of Congress Classification System
Peer Review and Primary Literature: An Introduction
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Jul 29, 2014
What makes an Article "Peer-Reviewed" or "Primary"?
Periodicals in the Sawyer Library (3rd Floor Collections)
by Sarah Griffis, Beata Panagopoulos - Last Updated Jul 15, 2014
This guide will help you navigate the journals, magazines, microforms, newspapers, and other research tools held in the Sawyer Library periodicals collection.
Persistent URLs in Blackboard
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Mar 20, 2014
Presidential Elections
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Oct 29, 2014
RefWorks Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Dec 12, 2014
Sawyer Library--Maps to Find Us (Plus Info and Photos)
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Jun 2, 2014
Where We are Located in the Heart of Boston, and What You'll Find Here.
Subscribing to Journal RSS Feeds
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Sep 17, 2014
 

Loading...
Arrow