Finance Resource Guide: Selected Print & Online Resources

Online
Online provider of consolidated income accounts, balance sheets, corporate history, debt information, and more. Formerly known as Mergent Moody Manuals.

REF. HG 4537 .M66
Provides current information on cash and stock dividends, stock splits, and rights issues for more than 30,000 domestic and Canadian issues plus some global equities and American Depository Receipts.

Online in Business Source Complete
This quarterly print publication provides historical data, analysis, and stock information for over 900 stocks. Each company receives a one-page overview designed to help determine how the company has performed in the past, its current performance, and predictions for the future.

Online through KBR
REF Desk HF 5681 .R25 I525
Provides statistics for a wide range of industries, "over 800 lines of business," arranged by SIC code. Includes "typical" balance sheet and income statements with "common-size" financial figures, as well as 14 performance ratios. Figures are based on data taken from a Dun & Bradstreet database that includes over one million financial statements from public and private companies.

REF Desk HF5681 .R25 T861
Starting with the 2002 edition, the Troy's Almanac is organized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), instead of the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC). An appendix provides a translation between NAICS and SIC. 192 industries are covered, and their performance averages are broken down by 12 categories based on asset size. Each industry is described by fifty performance indicators, which are based on tax returns.

REF Desk HF 5681 .B2 R6
This publication provides "common-size" balance sheets and income statements, and 16 financial and operating ratios, for over 500 lines of business, by company size groups. Although it is organized by SIC code, the appropriate NAICS number(s) are also listed.

Available Online.
REF. HG 61 .I57 (older editions)
The International Monetary Fund's principal statistical publication and an excellent source for statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Includes country tables for most fund members. Data generally begins in 1991.

Available Online
REF. HF 1014 .B3 (older editions)
Contains balance of payments data for 160 countries and investment position data for 37 countries. Information is presented in regional and world tables.

Available Online
REF. HJ101 .G68 (older editions)
Provides useful public finance statistics.

Also Available Online through Gale Virtual Reference
REF. HG181 .M297 2002
Three volume set which covers the history of finance in America. Begins with the discovery of America. Includes selected bibliography.

Available Online through Gale Virtual Reference
A reference work covering all aspects of finance. Coverage includes finance and statistical applications in finance.

REF. HG4751 .D57 2011
Covers more than 3,500 firms worldwide. Listings generally include contact information, mission statements, portfolio companies, geographic preferences, average and minimum investments, investment criteria, and extensive information on key executives.

REF HG151 .B2697 2005
A comprehensive financial title which explains formal and informal terminology. Unlike most financial dictionaries, it includes colloquialisms.

REF. HG 4057 .A28617 (2 vols.)
Comprehensive profiles of 750 of America's largest and most influential companies. Profiles cover company history, chief executives, products and operations, competitors, and seven to ten years of income statement data. Includes rankings by sales, profits, and growth. Annual.

REF. HG 4009 .H66
Comprehensive profiles of 300 firms from Canada, Europe, and Japan. Company information provided includes history, chief executives, products and operations, competitors, and 10 years of income statement data. Annual.

REF. HG 4057 .A28618
Covers U.S. public companies with sales between $10 million and $1 billion, three years of reported sales, at least 20% rate of sales growth, and positive net income. Provides 10 years of financials (revenue, income, profit margin), 10 years of stock history (price, P/E, per share), brief description, chief executives, products, and competitors. Annual.

Online through Wiley
Covers Financial markets and instruments, investment management and financial management, valuation, financial modeling, and quantitative tools.

REF. HG 173 .H34 (loose-leaf)
Covers technical, analytical, and theoretical questions for corporate financial executives, strategic planners, accountants, attorneys, security analysts, and bankers. Main topics covered are financial institutions and markets, security analysis and portfolio management, short-term internal corporate financial decisions, long-term financial decisions, and international financial decision making.

2007 edition available online through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over three hundred entries covering the major areas of business- accounting, economics, finance, information systems, law, management, and marketing. Articles are signed and include bibliographies.

Online through Oxford Reference
HG151 .D58 2005 (print)
The entries in the new edition cover banking, money markets, foreign exchanges, public and government finance, and private investment and borrowing, and much more.

REF. HF 1041 .C56
Provides comprehensive data on the commodity market in the United States and in the world. Includes commentary and analysis. Annual.

REF HC101 .A13122
Provides basic historical and updated data on the U.S. economy. Contains 3,000 economic time series, largely from federal government sources. Includes data, such as GDP, income, employment, investment, prices, wages, productivity, profits, international trade, and interest rates. Biennial. Available online through eBrary.