This is the "Reference Sources (Online & Print)" page of the "African American Studies Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African American Studies Resource Guide  

This guide provides selected information resources supporting African American Studies and Literature. These resources include both those useful to the study of historical events and those appropriate for researching current issues.
Last Updated: Jun 18, 2014 URL: http://suffolk.libguides.com/content.php?pid=117960 Print Guide RSS Updates

Reference Sources (Online & Print) Print Page
  Search: 
 

African American Studies: Online Reference Sources

  • Oxford African American Studies Center
    The Oxford American Studies Center merges several reference sources into a single database. Sources include Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience (second edition); Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America; and African American National Biography.
  • African American Archives
    " African American Archives provides over one million pages of original historical documents pertaining to the African American experience over several centuries, and is richly-detailed with narratives and quantitative data alike. The earliest materials in this collection come from Essential Records Concerning Slavery and Emancipation from the Danish West Indies (1672-1917). There are several other slavery-related collections, including letters, account books, annual reports, and news clippings. Files contain detailed narrative accounts of subjects' activities and include information about families, occupations, and general activities. There are also related manuscripts from the American Colonization Society, an organization best known for its role in establishing Liberia, a colony in Africa for free people of color from the United States."
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    This collection of online reference works includes the African American Almanac, 11th ed., 2011; African-American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience, 2003; Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History, 6v, 2006; Encyclopedia of African American Society, 2v, 2005; Encyclopedia of Black Studies, 2005, and more general sources like the 10 volume, 2003 edition of the Dictionary of American History.
  • Voices of the African American Experience
    The full text of this three volume set (published by ABC-CLIO eBooks) is available online. The set is comprised of historical and primary documents depicting the African American experience, from the 1600s to 2008.
  • U.S. History in Context
    U.S. History in Context provides a basic overview of U.S. history, with a broad range of content types: digital archives of primary source material (documents, pamphlets, first-person accounts), encyclopedias, scholarly journals, and audio and video clips of historic speeches and events.
  • Sage eReference: African American Studies
    Sage eReference is an online collection of reference titles from Sage Publications covering multiple topics. Use the search box to find essays from titles such as the Encyclopedia of African American Education, 2009, and the Handbook of Black Studies, 2006.
  • Cambridge Histories Online
    Cambridge Histories Online provides electronic access to over 250 scholarly volumes published by Cambridge University press since 1960. A sample search for "African American" generates 305 results, the bulk being from The Cambridge History of American Literature, The Cambridge History of Law in America, and The Cambridge History of Music.
  • CQ Press Political Reference Suite
    Titles include: CQ Almanac (legislative analysis, 1945-2006); Congress and the Nation (legislative history, 1945-2004); Historic Documents Series, 1972-2005; Politics in America (congresssional profiles); Supreme Court Yearbook (case summaries); and Vital Statistics on American Politics. Examples of documents include a legislative chronology of Civil Rights, 1945-1964, and the text of Governor Wilder's Inaugural Address (Virginia, 01/13/1990): the first black governor of any state.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States
    This is the updated, online edition of the standard reference source for historical U.S. statistics. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of historical information, arranged in broad data areas- population, work and welfare, economics governance. For example, an article on the history of slavery in America links to multiple tables with statistics on the demography and economics of slavery.
  • Microsoft Encarta Africana
    "Comprehensive encyclopedia of Black history and culture." Suffolk University students and faculty may borrow this CD-ROM set.
 

Slave Trade Database and Accompanying Atlas

Cover Art
Atlas of the Transatlantic Slave Trade - David Eltis and David Richardson
Call Number: REF. G2446.E625 E48 2010
ISBN: 0300124600
Publication Date: 2010
The maps in this volume are derived from the data and records contained in the slavevoyages.org database.

Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
"Voyages" is a unique achievement, sponsored in part by the National Endowment for the Humanities and Emory University Libraries. This publicly available, online database gathers information on 34,941 trans-Atlantic slaving voyages between the years 1514 and 1866. Documents held in archives and libraries on both sides of the Atlantic provide information on the vessels, slave traders and owners, the enslaved peoples, trading routes, ports, and individual names, as recorded at the time.

 

Print Reference Sources

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History : The Black Experience in the Americas
Call Number: Online at Gale Virtual Reference Library
ISBN: 0028658167
Publication Date: 2nd Edition, 2006
The revised second edition of the print set below.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Call Number: REF. E185 E54 1996
ISBN: 0028973453
This five volume set devoted to the African-American experience. Two-thirds of the essays are biographical articles on African-Americans, the remaining essays are on significant events, historical eras, legal cases, cultural achievement, the professions, sports and places.

Cover Art
The African American Almanac
Call Number: Online via Gale Virtual Reference Library
ISBN: 1414445474
Publication Date: 11th Edition, 2011
Covers wide ranging topics such as documents in African American history, employment and income, sacred music traditions, and science and technology.

Cover Art
The African American Almanac
Call Number: REF E185 .A267 2003
ISBN: 0787640204
Publication Date: 9th Edition, 2003
Topics range from Africans in America 1600-1900 to sections on law, politics, media, and the military. In addition to the printed edition, Suffolk University students and faculty have access to the online version from Gale Virtual Reference.

Cover Art
African American History in the Press, 1851-1899
Call Number: REF. E185.2 .A25 1996; Volume 1: 1851-1869; volume 2: 1870-1899.
ISBN: 081039555X
Recounts African American history "from the coming of the Civil War to the rise of Jim Crow as reported and illustrated in selected newspapers of the time."

Cover Art
Chronology of African American History from 1492 to the Present
Call Number: REF. E 185.H64 1997
ISBN: 0810385732
Following a year-by-year day-by-day format, this volume covers all the events of African American history from 1492 through December 1996. The lengthy appendix includes reprints of historic documents.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African American Business History
Call Number: REF. HD2344.5.U6 E53 1999
ISBN: 0313295492
Online access via via ABC-Clio. Covers the African American business experience from 1600s - 1990s. Entries include biographical articles, essays on Black business history, and surveys of Black participation in selected industries.

Cover Art
Organizing Black America : an Encyclopedia of African American Associations
Call Number: REF. E185.5 .O74 2001
ISBN: 0815323093
Organized in alphabetical order, the entries discuss the "origins, goals, founders, membership, staff, activities, achievements, and failures" of African American associations.

Cover Art
Health, United States
Call Number: REF. RA407.3 .H43 2010
Online access available at the National Center for Health Statistics, 1975 - present.
This report, a good source of minority health statistics, is produced by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services with data compiled by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the National Center for Health Statistics.

Cover Art
Black Americans : a Statistical Sourcebook
Call Number: REF. E185.5 .B512 2004
ISBN: 10486992
Includes data collected on demographics, vital statistics, health, education, elections, public opinion, law enforcement, labor force, and special topics such as Black owned firms and housing affordability.

Cover Art
Reference Library of Black America
Call Number: REF. E185 .P56 1997
A five volume set which covers topics such as Africa and the western hemisphere, Black entrepreneurship, science and medicine, and African-American firsts.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mildred F. Sawyer Library
Contact Info
617.573.8532
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip