Current Topics and Pro & Con Viewpoints
Today's Civil Rights and Liberties Issues: Democrats and Republicans by Call Number: Access online via BloomsburyISBN: 9798216172420Publication Date: 2023"One-stop resource for those wanting to better understand where Democrats and Republicans stand on current civil rights and civil liberties issues related to voting, free speech, abortion and reproductive rights, guns, and other hot-button topics."
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowPublished by CQ Press, CQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues.
Recent report topics include "Government Secrecy," "Intelligent Design," and "Right to Die." - Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowProvides a variety of resources on global issues: news, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.
- Nation Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Nation Archive contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of The Nation, beginning with its first issue in 1865 all the way to the present. The Nation is America’s oldest weekly magazine and one if its premier journals of opinion since its inception.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints in Context is a database based on the social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, and other Gale imprints. It features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, academic journal and newspaper articles, primary source documents, and statistics.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowFind information on both sides of a public policy debate. Search and access reports from over 300 active think tanks, research organizations, and advocacy groups.
- Congressional DigestCongressional Digest "reports on pros and cons, background and verbatim arguments of legislation before Congress, each issue dealing with one law under consideration." Academic Search Complete provides coverage to this publication from 1921 to the present.
CRS Reports (Congressional Research Service)
The Legislative Reference Service was established by Congress in 1914, as a separate department within the Library of Congress, to serve the research needs of the Congress. In 1970, Congress changed the name to the Congressional Research Service (CRS), and broadened its obligations.
The mission of the CRS is to serve the Congress by providing comprehensive, authoritative, and nonpartisan research and analysis, in order to inform members of Congress as they prepare for debate. Read more about the history and mission of the CRS at http://www.loc.gov/crsinfo/about/.
- Congressional Research Service - Public Access"This collection provides the public with access to research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress. By law, CRS works exclusively for Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation. As a legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress, CRS has been a valued and respected resource on Capitol Hill for more than a century."
- Federation of American Scientists (FAS) Index to CRS Reports (Congressional Research Service)The Federation of American Scientists "endeavors to provide current, regularly updated public access to as many non-confidential CRS reports as possible. These reports are provided without congressional or CRS authorization as a public service."
- Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) and Issue Briefs (U.S. Dept. of State)Browse by date, region, or topic.
- Open CRS (Congressional Research Service)"CRS Reports do not become public until a member of Congress releases the report. A number of libraries and non-profit organizations have sought to collect as many of the released reports as possible. Open CRS is a centralized utility that brings together these reports."
Sample Topics
"Taking Sides" SeriesISBN: 0078139546The Taking Sides book series offers debate style readings on a wide variety of topics, such as world politics (pictured); death & dying; media & society; and bioethics.
Homelessness in America : the history and tragedy of an intractable social problem by Call Number: Access online via EBSCOhostISBN: 1538159589Publication Date: 2022
