This is the "Library Databases: Online Reference Sources" page of the "City, County, and State Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

City, County, and State Resource Guide  

Last Updated: Mar 15, 2016 URL: http://suffolk.libguides.com/content.php?pid=133918 Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Databases: Online Reference Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Demographics Database Tool

  • DemographicsNow
    DemographicsNow is a tool to analyze the demographic, and hence market potential, of any state, county, or zip code in the United States.
 

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

GVRL is a collection of reference books, which are available electronically. Titles relevant to information on cities and states include:
Cover Art
National Survey of State Laws
ISBN: 0787698741
Publication Date: 2008
Follow the link in the catalog to the 2008 edition in Gale Virtual Reference. GVRL also contains the 2005 edition.

Cover Art
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
Both the 2004 and 2007 editions are available through GVRL. The set provides history and data on the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and other dependencies of the United States.

Cover Art
Cities of the United States
Call Number: REF HT123 .C49677
GVRL contains both the 2006 and 2009 editions. The 2006 print edition is available in the Sawyer Reference section.

Cover Art
Cities of the World
Call Number: REF G153.4 .C57 2002
ISBN: 0787639125
Publication Date: 2002
This 4 volume set is available both online, and in print. Note: Given its age, this set is useful mostly for the histories of the cities that it highlights.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Population
Call Number: 2003
ISBN: 0028656776
This 2 volume set covers demographic topics such as fertility rates, immigration, the population's impact on the environment, and the effects of an aging population.

 

Online Reference Books

Cover Art
County and City Data Book - U.S. Dept. of Commerce
Call Number: REF HA202 .A36
ISBN: 1598044230
Publication Date: 2007
Online at the Census Bureau (2000 and 2007); and several volumes in print between the years 1952 and 1994.

Cover Art
Places, Towns, and Townships
Call Number: REF. HA203 .P58 2003
ISBN: 0890596204
Publication Date: Third edition, 2003
"Based on the 2000 census, this volume "contains statistical information about U.S. places and the people who live in them. [...] from the largest city to the smallest village - and for all Census Designated Places." Available online through eBrary. A print version of the same edition is in the Sawyer Reference section.

Cover Art
Historical Statistics of the United States
Call Number: REF. HA202 .H57 2006
The online version of a five-volume reference work: the standard source for the quantitative facts of the United States. Organized by broad topic areas - population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations. The print version is available in the Sawyer Reference Section.

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
ISBN: 0080430767
Publication Date: 2001
Online version of a 26 volume set. This Encyclopedia represents a massive undertaking to "describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences." The Encyclopedia includes an entire section devoted to Urban Studies.

Cover Art
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Call Number: REF HB61 .N49 2008
ISBN: 0333786769
Publication Date: 2008
The online version is available via the link in the catalog to the publisher, Palgrave. The equivalent 8 volume print set is in the Sawyer Reference section. The set is divided into major topical areas, such as Urban, Rural, and Regional Economics.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mildred F. Sawyer Library
Contact Info
617.573.8532
Send Email

See also...

Demography and Population Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Jul 23, 2016
36 views this year
Marketing and Advertising Resource Guide
by Sonia Didriksson - Last Updated Mar 28, 2016
327 views this year
Massachusetts and Boston Statistics Resource Guide
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Feb 28, 2017
49 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip