Last Updated: Aug 25, 2016
These Gateways are free websites that contain extensive listings of links to web resources that are organized by subjects or categories. Lists may include evaluations and annotated descriptions of the resources prepared by
experts in the fields. Several of the Gateways were created by academic institutions in the U.S. or the U.K.
BUBL LINK http://bubl.ac.uk/link/ BUBL
LINK, hosted by the Centre for Digital Library Research, Strathclyde University, Glasgow, Scotland, is a catalog of Internet resources
covering academic and other subject areas. You can search thousands of resources by subject or by keyword in combination with the cataloged
fields (author, subject, Dewey Decimal classification, resource type, location) and construct focused searches that can lead to more relevant
search results. Note: As of April 2011, BUBL LINK "is no longer being updated" (but the links to its many resources may still be available).
INFOMINE http://infomine.ucr.edu/ INFOMINE,
a "virtual library of Internet resources" was created in 1994 by librarians at the University of California, Riverside, with librarians
from other academic institutions contributing to its development. Like BUBL LINK, INFOMINE catalogs each website entry as well as annotating it
so you can construct searches using the descriptive fields. You can also browse the website links by keyword, author, title, and Library of
Congress subject headings.
The Internet Scout Project http://scout.cs.wisc.edu/ The
University of Wisconsin-Madison's Internet Scout Project has been evaluating websites for academic and research communities since 1994.
The Project's main publication, the Scout Report, is published weekly with mostly free resources selected and reviewed by librarians and
subject experts. These critical evaluations can be browsed by subject or searched by keyword. The Project also includes the National Science Foundation's National Science Digital Library (NSDL) for the sciences,
social sciences, and humanities.
College & Research Libraries News Internet Resources http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/acrl/publications/crlnews/internetresources.cfm Internet Resources from College & Research Libraries News, a publication of the Association of College & Research Libraries, a
division of the American Library Association, are available on the web from December 1998 to the present. These concise guides, accessible by
topic or date, and written by a librarian who is a subject specialist, begin with a brief overview of the topic and the websites selected for
inclusion in the guide. Each website in the guide is annotated. Highly recommended for university students, faculty, and researchers.
Intute http://www.intute.ac.uk/ Intute
is a free online database providing access to websites that are cataloged and evaluated by subject specialists. Its network of over
seventy educational and research organizations in the UK includes the Natural History Museum and the British Library in London. Records are
searchable by keyword or subject and organized by four subject groups: Arts & Humanities, Health & Life Sciences, Science, Engineering,
& Technology, and Social Sciences. Note: Intute says it "is closing
AcademicInfo http://www.academicinfo.net Although
this website focuses on access to online and distance learning academic programs, including free online video lectures, its Subject Guides
provide links to over 25,000 educational resources for all academic disciplines. Topics from "Abraham Lincoln" to "Zoology" may be browsed
or searched by keyword and many of the links to websites are annotated.
(Open Archives Initiative), created by the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service in 2002 and now managed by OCLC and
its WorldCat/open library, is an online union catalog/database providing access to academically-oriented digital resources that are
multidisciplinary and international in scope.
WWW Virtual Library http://vlib.org The
Virtual Library, the "oldest catalog of the web," founded in 1991 by Tim Berners-Lee, "creator" of the Web and HTML, is now run by volunteers
who compile pages of key links for their particular areas of expertise. Although not all entries are annotated, it is a useful general
directory of the web because of the range of topics it covers and the large number of entries. As might be expected, the depth of topic
coverage and the quality of selected sites vary. Searchable by keyword as well as browsable by subject category.
ipl2, formed by the merger of the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians' Internet Index (LII), includes a section of "subject
collections" with briefly annotated links to internet websites. Some subjects are represented by a few popular sites appropriate for the
general public, e.g., humor, while other subjects, such as chemistry, are covered in more depth and include sites appropriate for an academic
audience. Its "Reference Center" includes almanacs, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
Digital Librarian http://www.digital-librarian.com Librarian
Margaret Vail Anderson compiles and maintains this "librarian's choice
of best of the Web" with lists of websites organized by subject. The
subject lists, which are not keyword searchable, contain links to many
websites and some of the links are briefly annotated. Subjects range
from "Activism" to "Yurts, Tipis & Tents."