Last Updated: Mar 16, 2017
Industry Information in Euromonitor's Passport
- Last Updated Aug 26, 2014
Note: Passport has redesigned its interface, but the features described here remain much the same.
Also, many thanks to Chad Boeninger of Ohio University Libraries, for his Business Blog videos on GMID.
44 views this year
- Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage: Industry Surveys
The Industry Surveys cover 52 major U.S. industries. Each survey includes 'how the industry operates;' business cycles & trends; how to analyze a company; and financial data, such as profitability ratios for leading companies. To access the surveys, use the "Industry Surveys" drop-down box, or select the "Industry" tab at the top of the screen. The "Industry" tab also leads to the brief 'Sub-Industry Reviews,' (on industry segments) and the 'Global Industry Surveys' (see below).
- Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage: Global Industry Surveys
S&P Net Advantage also offers Global Industry Surveys, which provide "in-depth industry analysis from a European, Asian and Latin American perspective." Twentyseven industries are covered in the global reports, and these can be accessed through the "Industries" tab at the top of the screen.
IBISWorld provides market intelligence reports for more than 1,000 products and services. The reports are geared help those in charge of procurement of various supplies and services, which in turn may be part of a larger supply chain.
- First Research (Industries)
First Research features a wide range of industry profiles that are grouped into manufacturing and services sectors. Many of the profiles cover businesses not readily found in other sources, such as Title Insurance Services or Optometrists and Opticians. Search by keyword, SIC or NAICS code, or browse the profiles, which are updated quarterly. There is also a section devoted to State & Province Profiles, which provide a snapshot of the business climate in individual states and provinces.
- MergentOnline: Industry Reports
In addition to company information, Mergent includes Industry Reports. (Choose Report Search, then change the default from "Equity" to "Industry.") Users may choose from 24 industries (i.e., hospitality & tourism, media, and retail), and 3 regions (Asia Pacific, Europe, North America). The Sawyer Library subscription allows for 3 simultaneous users; please log out when finished.
- Bloomberg BNA
Bloomberg BNA contains legal, regulatory, and business information. Publication categories include:
CORPORATE & SECURITIES
EMPLOYMENT & LABOR LAW
ENVIRONMENT & SAFETY
TAX & ACCOUNTING
TELECOMMUNICATIONS & INTERNET
- Euromonitor International: Passport
Produced by Euromonitor, this database provides very detailed international market research, presented as industry, company, country, and consumer reports. Two recent examples are reports on the market for dogfood in Colombia , and products and services in the market for eye care in Taiwan. See the guide: Industry Information in Euromonitor's Passport.
- Value Line Research Center (3 Simultaneous Users)
Value Line is a tool for investment research. Search by company, or choose from amongst the 90+ industries that are represented; this leads to a one-page overview of that industry, and a list of the companies covered in that section. To view the survey issues, click on "Standard Edition" in the left margin; then to view a list of industries, click on "Look up Industry." Theprint
is also available (REF Desk HG4501 .V26).
- Business Insights: Essentials
Search by industry keyword or NAICS code to generate extensive industry reports, or use the Comparison Charts to compare industries.
- Business Source Complete: MarketWatch Reports
In addition to articles, BSC contains "MarketWatch" reports (published by Datamonitor) on the following areas: Automotive, drinks, energy, financial services, food, 'Global Round-up,' personal care, technology, and telecoms. Several categories contain 'new product' announcements and reviews. The reports are available from 2003 to the present. To locate these reports, choose 'Publications' and then 'browse' for 'MarketWatch.'
- ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM includes industry and market research. Choose "Browse" to see a list of categories, or do a keyword search for an industry, and then limit by Source Type ('reports').