This is the "Online & Print Reference Books" page of the "African American Genealogy Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African American Genealogy Resource Guide  

This guide is to assist students who are studying genealogy within the context of African American history.
Last Updated: Jun 7, 2016 URL: http://suffolk.libguides.com/content.php?pid=206343 Print Guide RSS Updates

Online & Print Reference Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Circulating Books (Print)


Cover Art
Finding Answers in U.S. Census Records
Call Number: Sawyer CS49 .S984 2002
ISBN: 0916489981
This book is a guide to understanding and using U.S. Census records for genealogical research.

 

Accompanying Atlas to the Slave Trade Database

Cover Art
Atlas of the Transatlantic Slave Trade - David Eltis and David Richardson
Call Number: REF. G2446.E625 E48 2010
ISBN: 0300124600
Publication Date: 2010
The maps in this volume are derived from the data and records contained in the slavevoyages.org database.

Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and Emory University Libraries, Voyages is a publicly available database of information on 34,941 trans-Atlantic slaving voyages between the years 1514 and 1866. The information has been derived from documents held in archives and libraries on both sides of the Atlantic, and includes vessel names, slave traders and owners, the enslaved peoples, trading routes, ports, and individual names, as recorded at the time.

 

Online Reference Books

The following links lead to the Sawyer Library catalog. From there, current Suffolk University students and faculty may have access to these items online.

Cover Art
The Underground Railroad: An Encyclopedia of People, Places, and Operations (2008)
ISBN: 1849725160
Several family tree diagrams are included in the Appendix A: Genealogies (volume 2).

Cover Art
Contemporary Black Biography, vol. 52-55, (2006).
ISBN: 0787679248
Available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Cover Art
Notable Black American Men. Book II (2007).
ISBN: 0787664936
Available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Cover Art
Who's Who Among African Americans (2006)
ISBN: 0787690317
Users must either search for a name, or browse the contents by the Geographic or Occupation indexes.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mildred F. Sawyer Library
Contact Info
617.573.8532
Send Email
 

Reference Books (Print)

Cover Art
The Source : A Guidebook to American Genealogy
Call Number: REF. CS49 .S65 2006
ISBN: 1593312776
This reference work helps users to identify and use appropriate primary and secondary resources for genealogical research.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip