African American Genealogy Resource Guide: Library Databases

Provides over one million pages of original historical documents pertaining to the African American experience over several centuries. A product of Ancestry.com.

This website contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom: 1. Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860) -- 2. The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877) -- 3. Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932) -- 4. The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945) -- 5. The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975) -- 6. The Contemporary Era (1976-2000). The documents presented here represent a selection of primary sources available in several ProQuest databases. The databases represented in this website include American Periodicals, Black Abolitionist Papers, ProQuest History Vault, ProQuest Congressional, Supreme Court Insight and Alexander Street's Black Thought and Culture

A highly selective, multidisciplinary collection of over 1500 academic journals. The Sawyer Library has enhanced this collection with additional subscriptions in the life sciences, business studies, and Irish studies.

Full text and searchable digitized version of the New York Times from 1851 through 2018. (Current NYT content is available through our New York Times site license.)

Contains over 10,000 articles, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines. Core content includes Black Women in America and African American National Biography.

U.S. History in Context provides a combination of primary and secondary sources for the study of U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present. Materials include full-text periodicals, reference works, primary documents, scholarly analysis, and video/audio files.