This is the "Selected Importing Instructions" page of the "RefWorks Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

RefWorks Resource Guide  

Last Updated: Oct 28, 2016 URL: http://suffolk.libguides.com/refworks Print Guide RSS Updates

Selected Importing Instructions Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Science Databases

ACM Digital Library

1. View citations you wish to save.

2. Click the link to Display in BibTeX format.

3. For saving multiple records, copy and paste the results into a text file and Save As a plain text . txt file.

4. Log in to RefWorks.

5. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

6. Select BibTeX as the data source and ACM Digital Library as the database.

7. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.

8. Click Import.

9. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

ACS (American Chemical Society) Website

1. Conduct your search.

2.  From the Abstract/Full Text HTML view click Download Citations.

3.  Select the Download Citations button again.  You will be prompted to download and save a file to your computer.

4. Save as Text file.

5. Log in to RefWorks.

6. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

7. Select RIS Format as the data source and as the database.

8. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.

9. Click Import.

10. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

BioOne

1.  Conduct your search.

2.  From either the Abstract or Full Text view, click on Download to Citation Manager in the Options area. (Note:  you can only export one reference at a time).

3.  Save the file as Text.

4.  Log in to RefWorks.

5.  Select References/Import from the toolbar.

6. Select RefWorks Tagged Format as the data source and as the database.

7. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.

8. Click Import.

9. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

MathSciNet (AMS)

1. Save citations by clicking the Add to Clipboard button.

2. Review your marked citations by clicking the View Clipboard button.

3. Select format Citations ( BibTeX) and click Text.

4. Using your browser's Save As function, navigate to the local drive and directory where you want to save the file and save the file in the text (. txt) format.

5. Log in to RefWorks.

6. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

7. Select BibTeX as the data source and MathSciNet as the database.

8. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.

9. Click Import.

10. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Nature

Note: You can only export one record at a time.

1. Conduct your search.

2. Click on the Abstract or Full Text link for the record you want to export.

3. Click on the Download Citation link to the left of the abstract.

4. Save as a text file.

5. Log into RefWorks.

6. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

7. Select RIS Format as the data source and RIS Format as the database.

8. Browse to find the file you saved to your computer.

9. Click Import.

10. Your record should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

SciFinder Scholar

1. From the search results page select the references you want to import.

2. Click Export (from the top of the results list).

3.  In the Export options, select either All Answers or Only Selected Answers.

4.  Name your file.

5. Select Tagged Format (*.txt) as the file type.

6. Click Export.

7. Log in to RefWorks.

8. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

9. Select CAS Scifinder as the data source and CAPlus as the database.

10. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.

11. Click Import.

11. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

 

 

Multidisciplinary Databases

 

SpringerLink

1.       Conduct a search.

2.       View a record.

3.       Click Export Citation.

4.       Choose Plain Text format.

5.       Save citation to your computer as a text file.

6.       Log into your RefWorks account.

7.       Select References/Import from toolbar.

8.       Select RefWorks Tagged format as the data source.

9.       Browse your computer for saved text file.

10.    Click Import.

 11.  Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

 

Web of Science ( ISI) - Social Science Citation Index

Note:  If the records you wish to export from WOS are on a single search results page, you can bypass instructions 2 through 5 below.  Simply mark your records, select the fields to include in the export, select Save to other Reference Software in the drop-down and click the Save button in the Step 3 area at the bottom of the page.  Import the file following the instructions starting at #6 below.

1.  From your search results, select the items you wish to save by clicking in the checkbox to the left of the appropriate citations and clicking on the Add to Marked List button located at the top and the bottom of the screen.

2.  Click on the Marked List link when you are ready to export.

3.  On the Marked Records page in the Step 1 area, select the fields you want to include in the export.

4. In the Step 2 area, leave the Field Tagged option for Save to File and select the Other Reference Software and click the Save to File button.

5. You will be prompted to save a .txt file to your computer.  Click Save and choose an appropriate drive and file name. Click Save, then Close.

6. Log in to RefWorks.

7. Select References/Import from the toolbar.

8. Select Thomson Reuters as the data source and Web of Science as the database.

9. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.

10. Click Import.

11. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder

 

Sage Journals Online



1. Conduct your search and mark the items you wish to import.

2. Click Add to My Citations (on the right).

3. Select the email/download/save/print option.

4. Select Citation + Abstract from the Format drop-down, and click the Download to Citation Manager.

5. Click on the link below the word RefWorks - "Click here to download and save the file."

6. Save as a text file.

7. Open your RefWorks account.

8. Under the References Tab drop-down menu, select Import.

9. Choose RefWorks Tagged format and select a folder.

10.Click Import.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mildred F. Sawyer Library
Contact Info
617-573-8532
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip