LibGuides: Open Educational Resources: Open Journals, Images and Videos

Open Journal Databases

BioMed Central
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology, and Medicine) publisher with an open access publishing model.
Digital Commons Network Database
“The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.”
Directory of Open Access Journals
Open access journal content for peer-reviewed journals. These academic journals can be distributed to classes without violating copyright.
Highwire Press Free Content
Stanford University’s Highwire Press publishes a large number of journals for scholarly societies. This page notes journals with free content.
JURN
JURN is a search engine that indexes free "open access" e-journals in the arts and humanities,
PLOS: Collections
PLOS (Public Library of Science) publishes open access journal material with a focus on science. Additionally, PLOS ONE is a multidisciplinary journal which expands what may traditionally be called science topics.
PubMed Central
"PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)."
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is an Open Access Repository containing scholarly research in the social sciences and the humanities. Most papers are available for free downloading. Authors and papers are ranked by the number of downloads. Includes accounting, management, economics, and law topics, among others.

Open Image Databases

Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials.
J. Paul Getty Trust Open Content Program
"The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required."
USA.gov: Images
Some of these photos are in the public domain or are U.S. government works and may be used without permission or fee. However, some images may be protected by license or copyright. Read the disclaimers.
Pixabay
Find and share images free of copyrights. All pictures are published under Creative Commons Public Domain. Users can copy, modify, distribute and use the images without asking permission and without paying attribution. Content, however, may still be protected by trademarks, publicity or privacy rights. Check before using.

Open Video Databases

Library of Congress Webcasts
These are Library of Congress webcasts covering Biography, History, Culture, Performing Arts, Education, Government, Poetry, Literature, Religion, Science, and Technology.
Fedflix
FedFlix is a Joint Venture NTIS-1832 between the National Technical Information Service and Public.Resource.Org. It offers the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors. All of these flix are available for reuse without any restrictions.
PBS Learning Media
PBS and GBH present collected videos and related learning resources, at the k-12 level.
PBS Video
PBS offers some full-length programs and clips of programs that can be utilize in courses. Browse or search by topic or episode.
TED Talks
Search the TED Talks library of videos filmed at TED conferences and TEDx events. Narrowing a search to TED-Ed and view animated video lessons for educators to use.
Vimeo Creative Commons
Vimeo was founded by a group of filmmakers who wanted to share their work and as time passed, others helped build a community this massive video library. Users may browse videos with a Creative Commons license, and the site has an explanation of the different video licenses and how they can or cannot be used.