Last Updated: Mar 16, 2017
Industry Information in Euromonitor's Passport
- Last Updated Aug 26, 2014
Note: Passport has redesigned its interface, but the features described here remain much the same.
Also, many thanks to Chad Boeninger of Ohio University Libraries, for his Business Blog videos on GMID.
44 views this year
- First Research (Industries)
First Research covers industries from 11 sectors (such as Construction & Real Estate; Recreation; Retail; Food & Agriculture; Technology & Communications; and Energy.) Many of the profiles, which are updated quarterly, are not readily found in other sources. There is also a section devoted to State & Province Profiles, which provide a snapshot of the business climate in individual states and provinces.
- Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage: Industry Surveys
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys provides detailed economic and business information for 52 major U.S. industries, viewed at the national / global level. Each survey includes sections on recent trends, 'how the industry operates,' and how to analyze a company.
IBISWorld provides market intelligence reports for more than 1,000 products and services. The reports are geared help those in charge of procurement of various supplies and services, which in turn may be part of a larger supply chain.
- Business Insights: Essentials
Use the main search box to search for industry keywords or company names. Results include industry overviews, company profiles, and market research reports.
- Euromonitor International: Passport
- Value Line Research Center
Value Line is primarily for investment research on companies and their stocks. In addition, there is a one page Industry Commentary of each industry covered by Value Line. These commentaries frequently include a chart of retrospective and estimated composite statistics, such as the Average Annual P/E Ratio. The print version of Value Line
is at the Sawyer Library Reference Desk (REF Desk HG4501 .V26
- RDS Business Suite & TableBase
RDS Business Suite is a collection of three business information databases - Business & Industry, Business & Management Practices, and TableBase. TableBase is comprised of tabular information on market share, market size, product and brand rankings. Business & Industry covers companies, industries, products and markets. Business & Management Practices focuses on practical approaches to management processes.
- Building Green
Those who are interested in starting a "green" business, may wish to try out Building Green. This resource combines GreenSpec (a directory of green products), Environmental Building News, and a database of case studies, with the goal of helping "building-industry professionals ... [to] reduce the adverse impacts, of buildings."
- Survey of American Industry and Careers
A set of 6 volumes, available both online and in print; gives overviews of American Industries, organized from A-Z.
- Encyclopedia of American industries
A three volume set, available both online, via Gale Virtual Reference, and in print (REF. Desk HC102 .E53 2011). v. 1. Manufacturing industries -- v. 2. Agriculture, mining, construction, wholesale, & retail industries -- v. 3. Finance, service & public administration industries
The Oxford Handbook of Entrepreneurship
Call Number: Full text via Oxford Handbooks Online
Publication Date: 2008
This collection of essays is weighted towards the theory and history of entrepreneurship, and less towards the nuts and bolts of getting a business off the ground.