This is the "Online Resources" page of the "GIS: Geographic Information Science/Systems" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GIS: Geographic Information Science/Systems  

Selected resources on GIS, with an emphasis on materials available online. Note: Online books and databases are accessible with a current Suffolk University ID.
Last Updated: Sep 29, 2016 URL: http://suffolk.libguides.com/geographic_information_science Print Guide RSS Updates

Online Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Database: Policy Map

  • Policy Map
    PolicyMap is a Geographic Information System (GIS), that offers "custom demographic maps, tables, reports and [an] analysis tool, [...] Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores, [...] unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.

Library E-Books

Library eBooks & Journal Articles Downloaded onto your Tablet or eReader
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Dec 2, 2016
Learn how to put ebooks from library resources, like eBrary or the IMF eLibrary on your personal device.
167 views this year

Find more like this...

The link below will perform a search in the online catalog (or OPAC, online public access catalog) for books sharing the subject heading of 'geographic information systems.' Some items will be in print, some will be available electronically.

Mobile Resources

A guide to the mobile versions of library resources, where they are availalble.

Mobile Resources
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Sep 29, 2016
2 views this year
 

GIS Texts & Reference Books (available online with a Suffolk ID)

Cover Art
Introducing Geographic Information Systems with ArcGIS
Call Number: View full text via eBrary
ISBN: 1118159802
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
Beginning ArcGIS Desktop Development Using .NET
Call Number: View full text via eBrary
ISBN: 1118442547
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
Learning Geospatial Analysis with Python
Call Number: View full text via eBrary
ISBN: 1783281138
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
21st Century Geography : A Reference Handbook
Call Number: View Full Text via Sage eReference
ISBN: 141297464X
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
The SAGE Handbook of GIS and Society
Call Number: View Full Text via Sage eReference
ISBN: 141294645X
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Geographic Information Systems
Call Number: View full text via eBrary
ISBN: 1612099254
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
OpenStreetMap: Be Your own Cartographer
Call Number: View full text via eBrary
ISBN: 1847197507
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Introduction to 3D Data: Modeling with ArcGIS 3D Analyst and Google Earth
Call Number: Access book at the eBrary Site
ISBN: 0470381248
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
GIS Basics
Call Number: Access book at the eBrary Site
ISBN: 8122423761
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Key Concepts & Techniques in GIS
Call Number: View full text via Credo Reference
ISBN: 1412910161
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
Geographic Information Systems Demystified
Call Number: Access book at the eBrary Site
ISBN: 158053533X
Publication Date: 2006

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mildred F. Sawyer Library
Contact Info
617.573.8532
Send Email
 

Streaming Video

Geographic Information Systems
Call Number: View Film via Films on Demand
Spotlighted applications of GIS include ways that urban planners in India are using it to map traffic flows; how it's being applied in London to plans for projected mass transit use during the 2012 Olympics; how it's being used by disaster response teams to prepare for possible nuclear reactor leaks; and ways that police are using it to track and reduce crime.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip