Last Updated: Feb 28, 2017
Keyword searches in the Online Catalog will search words within the
- subject headings
- table of contents (if available).
This applies to both print books and e-books.
The Catalog DOES NOT search within the text of e-books.
- Suffolk University Library Catalog
Includes books, E-books, journal titles, and streaming video from the Sawyer Library, the Law Library, some Archives materials, and the Madrid campus.
WorldCat has the ability to search the holdings of most U.S. libraries. Searches may be limited to archival holdings.
However, items in archival collections typically are not allowed to leave their owning library/archive, and there may be additional usage restrictions.
- Request a book through interlibrary loan
If the Sawyer Library does not have a book that you need, you may fill out a form to see if we can get it from another library. Note: the turn-around time can take up to 2 weeks to receive a book.
- CQ Press Political Reference Suite
Political Handbook of the World
"A collection of comprehensive country profiles chronicling each nation's political history, government, leadership, elections, and political parties..."
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
"A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923."
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
GVRL contains hundreds of subject specific encyclopedias.
- Literature Criticism Online
This collection from the same publisher as GVRL contains the following series:
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Short Story Criticism
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
- Oxford Handbooks Online
- Cambridge Companions Online
The Cambridge Companions to Literature & Classics.
The Cambridge Companions to Music.
The Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion & Culture.
- Cambridge Histories Online
Cambridge Histories - American History
Cambridge Histories - Ancient History & Classical Studies
Cambridge Histories - Asian History
Cambridge Histories - British & European History
Cambridge Histories - Global History
Cambridge Histories - Literature
Cambridge Histories - Middle East & African Studies
Cambridge Histories - Music & Theatre
Cambridge Histories - Philosophy & Political Thought
Cambridge Histories - Religion