Last Updated: Mar 16, 2017
The Gale Virtual Reference Library
is a collection of online reference works, covering many subject areas. Several titles are relevant to industry research:
- Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage: Industry Surveys
S&P's Industry Surveys covers 50+ major U.S. industries. Each survey covers: 'how the industry operates;' business/economic cycles; key ratios and statistics; how to analyze a company; and tables listing financial data, including revenues, income, and profitability ratios for leading companies. To access, use the "Industry Surveys" drop-down box, or the "Industry" tab. The tab also leads to the brief 'Sub-Industry Reviews,' and the 'Global Industry Surveys' (see below).
- Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage: Global Industry Surveys
S&P Net Advantage also offers Global Industry Surveys, which provide analysis for selected industries in Europe, Asia, and/or Latin America. These can be accessed through the "Industries" tab at the top of the screen.
- First Research (Industries)
First Research provides Industry Profiles, grouped into 11 sectors (for example: Recreation; Retail; Food & Agriculture; Services; and Technology & Communications). Many profiles cover businesses not readily found in other sources, such as Title Insurance Services, or Optometrists. There are also State & Province Profiles, which provide a snapshot of the business climate in individual states and provinces.
IBISWorld provides market intelligence reports for more than 1,000 products and services. The reports are geared help those in charge of procurement of various supplies and services, which in turn may be part of a larger supply chain.
- MergentOnline: Industry Reports
Mergent is primarily used to find company financial information, however it also has industry reports, which cover 24 industries in North America, Asia, Europe, and Latin America. (To locate: From the opening screen, choose the Report Search tab,
then change the default from Equity to Industries.) Sawyer Library has a license for three simultaneous users, therefore please "log out" when you have completed your research.
- Business Insights: Essentials
Search by industry keyword or NAICS code to generate extensive industry reports, or use the Comparison Charts
to compare industries.
- Euromonitor International: Passport
Produced by Euromonitor, Passport provides detailed international
market research, presented as industry, company, country, and consumer reports. Two recent examples are reports on the market for dog food in Colombia, and products and services in the market for eye care in Taiwan. See the guide: Industry Information in Euromonitor's Passport.
- Euromonitor Blog: Analyst Insights
Read interesting posts from the analysts at Euromonitor on industries, companies, international markets, and business trends.
- Value Line Research Center
Value Line is one of the most trusted tools for investment research. Enter a company name (upper right search box), to view a company report. Note the section on 'peers' and the link to the PDF industry report. Value Line also provides a stock's 'beta' (measure of volatility) in the PDF version. Please log out when done. The print version
is at the Reference Desk.
- ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM includes industry and market research. Choose "Browse" to see a list of categories, or do a keyword search for an industry, and then limit by Source Type ('reports').
Industry Information in Euromonitor's Passport
- Last Updated Aug 26, 2014
Note: Passport has redesigned its interface, but the features described here remain much the same.
Also, many thanks to Chad Boeninger of Ohio University Libraries, for his Business Blog videos on GMID.
44 views this year