Google Dataset Search
- Google's Dataset SearchSee Google''s launch announcement about the Dataset Search: https://www.blog.google/products/search/making-it-easier-discover-datasets/
Data Collections on the Web
- National Data ServiceThe National Data Service is "an international federation of data providers, data aggregators, community-specific federations, publishers, and cyberinfrastructure providers. It builds on the data archiving and sharing efforts under way within specific communities and links them together with a common set of tools."
- QuandlQuandl primarily covers time-series financial and economic data, originating from exchanges, central banks, government agencies and private companies. Much of the data (from 400 open databases) is available for free, whereas some data (from 20 premium databases) is only available with a subscription. For a list of free sources, see https://www.quandl.com/search and select the filter "Free."
- re3data.orgFunded by the German Research Foundation DFG, re3data has the goal of creating "a global registry of research data repositories. The registry will cover research data repositories from different academic disciplines." Some repositories have open access, others require payment.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United StatesCall Number: REF. DESK HA202 .P76 2013ISBN: 159888591XPublication Date: 2013Since the Census Bureau no longer publishes the Statistical Abstract, the companies ProQuest and Bernan have now taken on the task of updating, indexing, and producing this publication. Volume 2013 is the first annual ProQuest-Bernan edition.
Statistical Abstract of the United States by Call Number: REF HA202 .S797ISBN: 1616086998Publication Date: Annually, 1878-2011Unfortunately, due to budget constraints, the U.S. Census Bureau no longer publishes the Statistical Abstracts. The 2012 edition is the final one published by the Census Bureau.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States provides data on all topics which can be quantified, including (but not limited to) health, education, law enforcement, agriculture, construction, manufacturing, employment, wages, wealth & poverty, energy, and transportation.
Statistical Abstracts: Online archive 1878-2012Publication Date: Annual publication, 1878-2012Subtitle: National Data Book and Guide to Sources.
U.S. Historical Statistics
Historical statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the PresentCall Number: Online: follow link in catalog; Print: REF HA202 .H57 2006ISBN: 0521817919Publication Date: 2006Bicentennial, revised update of Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970. Print edition: 5 volume set.
Datapedia of the United States, 1790-2005Call Number: Access book at the eBrary Site from the link in the catalog.ISBN: 089059256XThe Datapedia "presents the most significant historical statistics of the United States in 23 selected areas..."
Subject Guide
See also...
All of the subject specific guides listed below point to additional sources of statistics and data appropriate for the topic.