This is the "E-Reference" page of the "Psychology Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology Resource Guide  

Last Updated: Oct 19, 2016 URL: http://suffolk.libguides.com/psychology_resources Print Guide RSS Updates

E-Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Databases: Online Reference Books Collections

  • PsycBooks
    "PsycBOOKS, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of more than 24,000 chapters in PDF from over 1,500 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers."
  • Sage eReference
    Sage Publications is a major scholarly publisher of journals, reference, and monograph titles. Sage eReference contains several online encyclopedias and reference books in psychology, counseling, and psychotherapy. Titles include "21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook" and the "Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology."
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference is a collection of reference books published by Gale, which has now been made available electronically. Titles include: Child Development, 2002; Encyclopedia of Aging 4v, 2002; Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior 2v, 2004; Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology 2nd ed., 2001; International Dictionary of Psychoanalysis 3v, 2005; Learning and Memory 2nd ed., 2004.
  • Credo Reference: Psychology
    Credo Reference is an online library of reference books.
    Psychology reference titles include:
    • Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories
    • Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
    • Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender
    • Handbook of Forensic Psychology: Resource for Mental Health and Legal Professionals
    • International Handbook of Giftedness and Talent

PsychiatryOnline:
Portal from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.

  • PsychiatryOnline
    This site from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., acts as a gateway to their reference book and journal publications. Titles include:

    Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5)

    DSM-IV-TR

    DSM-IV-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis

    DSM-IV-TR Casebook and its Treatment Companion

    The American Journal of Psychiatry

    The Journal of Neuropsychiatry & Clinical Neurosciences
 

Online Reference Books

Cover Art
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-5
Call Number: Ref. Desk RC455.2.C4 D536 2013
ISBN: 089042554X
Publication Date: 2013
This is the significantly revised, 5th edition.

Cover Art
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-IV-TR, 4th ed., text revision
Call Number: REF. Desk RC455.2.C4 D536 2000
ISBN: 0890420254
Publication Date: 2000
This electronic version of the DSM-IV-TR (the standard text for the classification of mental disorders) is available online via PsychiatryOnline. The print volume is available at the Sawyer Reference Desk.

Cover Art
APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology
Call Number: REF BF76.5 .A73 2012
ISBN: 1433810034
Publication Date: 2012
3 Vols.: V. 1. Foundations, planning, measures, and psychometrics -- v. 2. Research designs : quantitative, qualitative, neuropsychological, and biological -- v. 3. Data analysis and research publication.

Cover Art
The Psychology Research Handbook: A Guide for Graduate Students and Research Assistants
ISBN: 0761930221
Publication Date: 2006
This second edition describes itself as "a comprehensive guide for understanding and conquering the entire research process."

Cover Art
APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
Call Number: REF HF5548.8 .A684 2011
ISBN: 1433807270
Publication Date: 2011
A three volume set covering a wide range of topics such as: work team diversity, workplace safety, selecting and developing members for the organization, fostering a positive work environment, and the globally distributed workforce. Available online, and in print.

Cover Art
Handbook of Gender Research in Psychology
ISBN: 1441913556
Publication Date: 2010
A two volume set available through Springerlink.

Cover Art
International Handbook of Anger: Constituent and Concomitant Biological, Psychological, and Social Processes
ISBN: 0387896759
Publication Date: 2010
Available online through Springerlink.

Cover Art
Handbook of Liaison Psychiatry
ISBN: 0521826373
Publication Date: 2007
A handbook for the practice of psychiatry / psychological medicine, in a hospital setting.

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
ISBN: 0080430767
Elsevier's "International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences" is a massive resource (the print equivalent is 26 volumes), with the aim of documenting the "state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences."

Cover Art
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychopathology
"Provides in-depth coverage of theoretical, research, and clinical positions in psychopathology." Published by Springer, and included in the Credo Reference collection.

Cover Art
Key Concepts in Health Psychology
"Aims to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of the key issues, theories, models, and methods in contemporary health psychology."

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mildred F. Sawyer Library
Contact Info
617.573.8532
Send Email

See also...

Psychology Research Article--How to Recognize One
by Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Jul 14, 2014
Primary Research Studies in Scholarly Journals have Certain Common Attributes--A Few are Detailed Here
14 views this year
Peer Review and Primary Literature: An Introduction
by Sonia Didriksson, Sarah Griffis - Last Updated Aug 6, 2015
What makes an Article "Peer-Reviewed" or "Primary"?
4,610 views this year
Citing Your Sources - APA Style
by Ellen Yen - Last Updated Nov 30, 2015
258 views this year
RefWorks Resource Guide
by Connie Sellers - Last Updated Oct 28, 2016
36 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip