Skip to main content

Sawyer Library Services During Covid-19: Moakley Archive

This guide contains the most current information on the Sawyer Library's services and building operations.

Moakley Archive Digital Collections

Suffolk's digital archive hosts more than 3000 photographs, interviews, and documents.

Records Management Services

Offsite storage: WB Meyer service is still active, but we encourage staff to request items be delivered electronically through on-demand digitization. If you need a physical box delivered, please be sure there is someone present in your office to receive and sign for the delivery.  When you place an order, WB Meyer will provide a delivery date on the work order.

Shredding: The regularly-scheduled monthly Shred-it pickup service is suspended, but will be requested when needed. If you need a Shred-it container emptied or need an extra barrel temporarily, please contact Records Management to arrange it.

For any questions related to offsite storage, secure destruction, digitization, archiving, or records surveys, please contact Michael Dello Iacono at 617-305-6255 or mdelloiacono@suffolk.edu. See additional information on the Suffolk website.

Digitized collection images

Beanie worn by freshmen in 1956

Matryoshka nesting dolls depicting Russian leaders Mikhail Gorbachev, Leonid Brezhnev, Nikita Khrushchev, Joseph Stalin, and Vladimir Lenin.

Allan Rohan Crite donating a print of his work, "Summer Madonna", to the Sawyer Library, 1979

Front cover of Beacon yearbook from 2001

Law School glass plate sign, 1910

Architect's rendering of the Friedman Marine Biolo

Architect's rendering of the Friedman Marine Biolo

Framed print presented to Congressman Moakley when

Framed print presented to Congressman Moakley when he received the Lena Park Hetch- Shaw Award from the Lena Park . It's inscribed with "For your twenty years of outstanding service to the United States Congress and the consistency of your representation

Exterior of South Station in Boston, Mass., 1998

Student checking out book from Pallot Library in 1

checking out a book in the Pallot Library, 1963

Suffolk University Law School Senior Banquet

Suffolk University Law School Senior Banquet at the Boston City Club, 1920

Postcard featuring a view of Boston's Theatre Dist

Postcard featuring a view of Boston's Theatre District, undated

Suffolk University golf player Andy Campbell, 1978

Suffolk University golf player Andy Campbell, 1978

Members of Suffolk University's Delta Sigma Pi Cha

Members of Suffolk University's Delta Sigma Pi Chapter, 1961

1961 Suffolk University cheerleading team

1968-1969 Suffolk University cheerleading team

1968-1969 Suffolk University cheerleading team

1961 Suffolk University cheerleading team

Marian Archer MacDonald, 1937

Marian Archer MacDonald, Suffolk's first female graduate, 1937

Construction employees and President Gleason L. Archer on construction site of new Suffolk University Library, 1937

Buffalo Bob Smith of Howdy Doody performs at Suffolk University's C. Walsh Theatre, 1970

The followers of Krishna, the ancient Hindu god of nature and fertility, explain their religion to an audience at Suffolk University's C. Walsh Theatre, 1971

Suffolk University Public Affairs Director Louis B. Connelly with Boston Celtics player Larry Bird (right) and Joe Walsh, 1982

"Reference microcomputers" area of the Sawyer Library, 1988

Using the Archives for Research and Records Management Remotely

Although, the Moakley Archive will be closed to in-person services staff continue to provide the following services:

  • Access to Digital Collections: browse Suffolk's digital archive, or watch this tutorial on archival research online. 
  • Course Support and Instruction: archivists can help create assignments, digitize course materials and provide instruction via Zoom
  • Digitization Services: Archive staff can digitize materials upon request
  • Records Management Services: assistance for employees with offsite storage, shredding, archiving, and digitization services
  • Research Services: email your questions to archives@suffolk.edu or set-up a one-on-one research consultation
  • Special Collections: staff can make arrangements for access to books and items located in the Zieman Room 

We will be adding more content to this page so check back for updates. If you don't find what you need, please contact us at archives@suffolk.edu

Sample Course Assignments and Videos

The following are some sample assignments based on documents and topics from the Moakley Archive's collections. We will be adding more soon!

Student checking out book from Pallot Library in 1

Contact the Moakley Archive

Main Phone: (617) 305-6277

E-Mail: archives@suffolk.edu

Web Site: http://www.suffolk.edu/moakley

Digital Collections: https://moakleyarchive.omeka.net/

Hours: Available remotely M-F, 9-4:30. In-person access to the Archives is suspended for Fall semester.

Navigating our Collections

Use the following tools to learn more about our collections.