Access 'Academic Search Complete' here.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database from EBSCO, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Several of the article databases share a similar interface. If you become accustomed to one, then the others will also be familiar.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowContains thousands of business periodicals, ebooks, reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, author profiles, company reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowThe database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association (APA). The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s and includes journal coverage from the 1800s to present.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIncludes full text of more than 860 journals (dating back to 1908), as well as 830 books, and 16,800 conference papers.
'Academic Search Complete' Sample Search
A search for the term graduate education returns over 129,000 results, - too many to sift through!
Using two search boxes, one concept per box, a search for graduate education AND underrepresented narrows the results to about 430.
Limit Results to Peer-Reviewed Journals
- College level research papers should include references to articles from journals that require a process of 'peer-review.'
- Note the option to limit search results to articles from peer-reviewed journals, which in the EBSCO databases is located in the left margin.
- TIME SAVER: Check off the Full Text box to limit results to only those articles which are available in the full text.
How / Why, - do I Need to Cite my Sources?
Use the CITE button on the articles's landing page to generate the citation for the article, to add to your works cited list.
A box appears with multiple citation styles. Scroll to find the MLA style.
- Avoid Plagiarism by Citing Your Sources.Citations acknowledge the work and ideas of others. Failure to cite sources used for one's own work violates the academic honor code.
Similar Interface on Multiple Article Databases: 'Academic Search Complete,' - one of several article databases from EBSCO.
The Sawyer Library subscribes to several article databases from the same vendor, EBSCO. Thus, students who become familiar with using one EBSCO database, will automatically recognize the similar interface features in the other EBSCO article databases. Examples include Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Communication Source, ERIC, and PsycINFO.
'Academic Search Complete' - Article landing page
'Academic Search Complete' - Make use of subject terms, and add additional concepts.
- Clicking on the subject term 'Graduate education' initiates a brand new search.
- This new search may be modified by adding in additional terms (concepts).
- The 'AND' requires that all of the terms appear in the resulting articles.
- Some concepts may be described by more than one word. Use the 'OR' to indicate that either term is acceptable.
- Final results may be further limited to those from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, and those that are available in the full text.
'Academic Search Complete' - sample peer-reviewed, scholarly article.
If information, thoughts, ideas, or quotations from an article are used, then the article must be cited. Use the Cite button to generate the components of the citation. Look for the MLA style option.
