LAWU 101 - Introduction to Legal Research: Selected Web Resources

The website of the highest court in the United States offers fulltext Opinions, including Slip Opinions, text and audio Transcripts, Docket , searching and much more.

From their site: "Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions (through Justia). Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout the Court’s history..."

"Review recent decisions and news, listen to oral arguments, or browse through our free collection of United States Supreme Court full-text opinions from 1791 to the present. Early editions of US Reports also include opinions by the courts of Pennsylvania from as early as 1754."

Free legal search tool. Find cases, statutes and more!

Provided by Cornell University Law School, LII provides U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1990 and links to websites with prior Supreme Court cases. In addition, LII includes the U.S. Code, accessible by both popular name and by citation. LII's Wex, is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia, arranged alphabetically by category. Legal terms are explained and often primary source references (state and federal statutes, case law, agency regulations) are linked.

U.S. Government legislation information

Contains Federal Register notices, final and proposed rules, and comments. Use Advanced Search to find dockets. Dockets can be viewed for comment, and the database is keyword searchable.

The Law Library of Congress collects a wide range of material about the legal system, and its current and historic impacts. It also provides good foundation documents for research related to the Supreme Court.

From their site: "The Law Library creates research guides that range from animal and landlord-tenant law to instructions for compiling a federal legislative history."

From their site: "This page features recordings of Law Library of Congress webinars and events." Use this page to find respected legal research video tutorials.

The "Interactive Constitution" allows you to explore the Constitution of the United States in chunks. This allows the site to also link to examples showing how each article or amendment impacts U.S. citizens.