Industry Profiles
-
IBISWorld Industry Research This link opens in a new window
Online library of reports offering actionable insights, comprehensive data and in-depth analysis on thousands of global industries. Covers industries in the US and thirty six countries worldwide.
-
Business Source CompleteBSC has full-text for over 8,800 business publications, including 1,100 scholarly business journals. A search for industry terms (such as 'drug retail') can be limited to the publication type "industry profile," which will generate industry reports from Datamonitor. Also, articles that contain significant industry information may include linked indexing to NAICS/Industry Codes, i.e. articles on "recycling facilities" may be linked to the NAICS code "562920" for Materials Recovery Facilities.
-
Wall Street JournalThe Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition, is available online in full-text from 1984 to the present from the ProQuest database. Sawyer Library also has access to the The Wall Street Journal, in various formats, as far back as 1889.
-
ABI/INFORM CompleteABI/INFORM Complete indexes over 5,700 journals in the areas of business, economics, and management. Nearly 80% are in full-text. Titles include the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, and MIT Sloan Management Review as well as SSRN Working Papers, EIU Country Data Reports, and selected dissertations in areas of business and economics.
-
Business Insights This link opens in a new windowSearch by industry keyword or NAICS code to generate extensive industry reports, or use the Comparison Charts to compare industries.
Articles from the Business Press, Trade Publications, and Scholarly Journals
-
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowFeatures thousands of full-text journals, industry reports, business and economic periodicals like The Economist and Sloan Management Review, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowContains thousands of business periodicals, ebooks, reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, author profiles, company reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
-
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowA collection of 1,000+ high-quality, peer-reviewed journals covering many disciplines, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 350 scholarly and professional societies.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full text of articles from over 2000 journals published by Elsevier.
-
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowWestlaw Campus Research is a research service that combines a breadth of news with in depth law-related information.
Company Profiles
-
Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new windowSuccessor to Mergent Online
Corporate information covering over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading. -
Business Insights This link opens in a new window
NOTE: In this database, when searching for a public company, it is best to search by using the company's ticker symbol. Results may include investment reports, SWOTs, market research, and market share reports. -
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
In addition to articles, BSC offers SWOTs. There are 3 ways to find these reports:
1. Select the 'Company Information' tab in the top banner, to use the company search form. If SWOTs are available, there will be a labeled category.
2. Run a search for the name of the company, then look in the left side bar for 'Source Types' and choose 'Show more.' Depending on the company, SWOTs may be available.
3. Point to "More" in the top blue banner, and choose Company Profiles. Some major private companies may be found here. -
IBISWorld Industry Research This link opens in a new window
Online library of reports offering actionable insights, comprehensive data and in-depth analysis on thousands of global industries. Covers industries in the US and thirty six countries worldwide.
Identifying Competitors: Generate Lists of Companies
-
ReferenceUSA This link opens in a new windowThis is a massive directory of American (13 million) and Canadian (1 million) businesses, compiled from public sources such as telephone directories; annual reports; the SEC; federal, state, provincial and municipal government data; business and trade publications, newspapers, and industry directories. Users may generate lists of companies based on criteria such as SIC, NAICS, or yellow page heading. Unlike other sources, ReferenceUSA will include very small private companies.
-
11 Minute Video on ReferenceUSAGenerate lists of companies, by industry and/or location, and then use the 'Chart' feature to sort and display the results.
The tools below allow users to generate their own lists of companies based on criteria such as industry, geographic location, and size.
For those who are looking for key competitors in a major industry, regardless of location, then most databases which provide company information also include a list of key competitors within the profile. To this end, in addition to the resources below, users should also the company profile resources in the Company Information Resource guide.
For those who are looking for key competitors in a major industry, regardless of location, then most databases which provide company information also include a list of key competitors within the profile. To this end, in addition to the resources below, users should also the company profile resources in the Company Information Resource guide.
-
Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new windowSuccessor to Mergent Online
Corporate information covering over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading. -
Business Insights This link opens in a new windowGo to the "Company Finder" tab to build a list of companies, based on location, industry, revenue, and number of employees. Use the "Comparison Charts to create a graph (or a table) comparing multiple companies (or industries).