Access 'Academic Search Complete.'
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary full-text database from EBSCO, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Transferable Skills: Several article databases share a similar interface:
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowAn important resource for SBS students, this database includes business periodicals, industry reports, company reports, and SWOT analyses.
-
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowContains abstracts and full text of sources in criminal justice, criminology, policing, and forensic science.
-
ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC, Education Resources Information Center, includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides. Coverage of K-12 education is especially strong.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowProvides scholarly articles, government reports, and general-interest articles on topics such as green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association (APA). The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIncludes full text of more than 860 journals (dating back to 1908), as well as 830 books, and 16,800 conference papers.
Limit Results to "Peer-Reviewed" Journals
- College level research papers should include references to articles from journals that require a process of 'peer-review.'
- TIME SAVER: Check off the Full Text box to see only those articles which are immediately available.
How / Why, - do I Need to Cite my Sources?
Use the CITE button to generate the citation for this article, to add to your works cited list.
A box appears with multiple citation styles. Scroll to find the MLA style.
-
Avoid Plagiarism by Citing Your Sources.Citations acknowledge the work and ideas of others. Failure to cite sources used for one's own work violates the academic honor code.
Academic Search Complete: Similar Interface on Multiple Article Databases from EBSCO.
The Sawyer Library subscribes to several article databases from the same vendor, EBSCO, which all share similar interface features.
Type one concept per box.
If a single concept can be described by more than one term, then type 'OR' to indicate that either term is acceptable.
Article landing page
[Note how the single row search box combines the two search concepts, by enclosing the second concept in parentheses.]
Use the CITE button to generate the citation for this article. Writing classes usually require the MLA citation style.
Scroll down on the landing screen to find the article's subject headings.
Select a subject heading to generate a new search for articles on that topic ("more like this.")
Filter your search results.
Search results may be filtered to display only articles from Peer Reviewed (i.e. scholarly) journals.
Results may also be limited by date.
