Historical Urban Atlases of Boston @ the Boston Public Library
-
Historical Urban Atlases of Boston & the Atlascope ToolThis guide from the Boston Public Library describes the use of the 'Atlascope' to view detailed, building-level historical information about the city. "Atlascope allows you to overlay historical atlases over modern day maps, and compare changes across time."
-
Atlascope Boston - from the Leventhal Map Center at the Boston Public Library"Atlascope is a tool for exploring historic urban maps in metropolitan Boston and telling stories about how places have changed over time."
Boston Planning & Development Agency
-
BPDA Research Division publicationsFeatured publications from the Boston Planning & Development Agency covering economic and demographic data for Boston.
Digital Collections @Suffolk
-
Boston Chronicle Newspaper"The Boston Chronicle was a daily newspaper founded in 1915 by a group of West Indian immigrants that included Thaddeus A. Kitchener, Suffolk’s first Black graduate. [...] Suffolk University Archives & Special Collections, along with Sawyer Library staff members Angjelina Koci and Carmen Chen, digitized microfilm versions of the paper from 1932-1960. Please note: some issues are faded and do not allow comprehensive keyword searching."
Boston (and New England) History
-
The Battle for Boston: How Mayor Ray Flynn and Community Organizers Fought Racism and Downtown Power Brokers
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books F73.52 .G55 2025ISBN: 1531509835Publication Date: 2025-05-06 -
Boston Mass-Mediated: Urban Space and Culture in the Digital Age
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books F73.52 .C67 2024ISBN: 1625348258Publication Date: 2024-09-27 -
A People's Guide to Greater Boston
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books F73.18 .N48 2020ISBN: 0520294521Publication Date: 2020-07-07 -
The Fenway Effect: A Cultural History of the Boston Red Sox
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books GV875.B62 K74 2024ISBN: 9781496232335Publication Date: 2024-04-01 -
Manufacturing Catastrophe: Massachusetts and the Making of Global Capitalism, 1813 to the Present
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books HC107.M4 N5 2024ISBN: 9780197665329Publication Date: 2024-01-12 -
Boston's Franklin Park: Olmsted, Recreation, and the Modern City
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books F73.65 .C37 2023ISBN: 1952620384Publication Date: 2023-10-01 -
Boston Mayor Thomas Menino: Lessons for Governing Post-Industrial Cities
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books F73.54.M46 R534 2023ISBN: 1625347650Publication Date: 2023-10-27 -
The Revolutionary: Samuel Adams
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books E302.6.A2 S35 2023ISBN: 0316441090Publication Date: 2023-10-24 -
Urban Archipelago: An Environmental History of the Boston Harbor Islands
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books GF504.M4 S56 2021ISBN: 9781625345967Publication Date: 2021-10-29 -
Before Busing: A History of Boston's Long Black Freedom Struggle
by
Call Number: Access online via JSTORISBN: 1469662787Publication Date: 2022-11-29 -
Where Futures Converge: Kendall Square and the Making of a Global Innovation Hub
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books HC108.C19 B83 2022ISBN: 9780262046510Publication Date: 2022-05-10 -
Riders in the Storm:The Triumphs and Tragedies of a Black Cavalry Regiment in the Civil
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books E513.6 5th .W37 2022ISBN: 9780811770859Publication Date: 2022-05-15 -
Memory Lands: King Philip’s War and the Place of Violence in the Northeast
by
Call Number: Access online via JSTORISBN: 0300231121Publication Date: 2018-01-09 -
New England's Hidden Past : 360 Overlooked, Underappreciated and Misunderstood Landmarks
by
Call Number: Access online via EBSCOhostISBN: 9781608939879Publication Date: 2020 -
Mattapan Through Time
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books F65 .S29 2023ISBN: 1634994515Publication Date: 2023-03-27 -
Beacon Hill Through Time
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books F73.68.B4 S25 2021ISBN: 1684730120Publication Date: 2021-03-29 -
Massachusetts Disasters: True Stories of Tragedy and Survival
by
Call Number: Access online via EBSCOhostISBN: 9781493028771Publication Date: 2017 -
Inside the Second Wave of Feminism: Boston Female Liberation, 1968-1972 an Account by Participants
by
Call Number: SAWYER NEW BOOKS HQ1421 .R683 2022ISBN: 9781642597042Publication Date: 2022-08-30 -
North to Boston: Life Histories from the Black Great Migration in New England
by
Call Number: SAWYER NEW BOOKS F73.9.B53 .G867 2022ISBN: 9780197614440Publication Date: 2023-04-21 -
No Right to an Honest Living: The Struggles of Boston's Black Workers in the Civil War
by
Call Number: SAWYER NEW BOOKS F73.44 .J66 2023ISBN: 9781541619791Publication Date: 2023-01-10 -
The Great American Transit Disaster: A Century of Austerity, Auto-Centric Planning, and White Flight
by
Call Number: Access online via EBSCOhostISBN: 9780226824406Publication Date: 2023-05-03See chapters on Boston. -
Francis Tukey and the Invention of Modern Crimefighting, 1846-1852.
by
Call Number: SAWYER NEW BOOKS HV7911.T85 R46 2022ISBN: 9781476689418Publication Date: 2022-06-24 -
Boston's Oldest Buildings and Where to Find Them
by
Call Number: Access online via EBSCOhostISBN: 9781684580392Publication Date: 2021-04-24 -
Nazis of Copley Square: The Forgotten Story of the Christian Front
by
Call Number: SAWYER LIBRARY 3RD FLOOR BX1397 .G345 2021ISBN: 0674983718Publication Date: 2021-09-28 -
Detestable and Wicked Arts: New England and Witchcraft in the Early Modern Atlantic World
by
Call Number: Access online via Proquest Ebook CentralISBN: 1501751050Publication Date: 2020-10-15 -
Native Americans of New England
by
Call Number: Access online EBSCOhostISBN: 9781440866104Publication Date: 2020-03-26 -
The World of Plymouth Plantation
by
Call Number: SAWYER NEW BOOKS F68 .P395 2020ISBN: 0674238516Publication Date: 2020-10-06 -
New England Earthquakes: The Surprising History of Seismic Activity in the Northeast
by
Call Number: Access online via EBSCOhostISBN: 9781493035779Publication Date: 2019-03-01 -
Urban Archaeology: Discovering the History Hidden in Plain Sight
by
Call Number: SAWYER LIBRARY 4TH FLOOR F73.18 .T63 2018ISBN: 9781608939916Publication Date: 2018-08-15 -
A Researcher's Guide to Boston
ISBN: 088082154XREF F73.3 .L35 2003
Provides details concerning the location of records for the city of Boston. -
Enslavement in the Puritan Village: The Untold History of Sudbury and Wayland, Massachusetts
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books F74.S94 S35 2025ISBN: 1467157171Publication Date: 2025-01-21
Boston Busing Crisis
Neighborhoods and Historic Trails
-
A Paradise of Small Houses: The Evolution, Devolution, and Potential Rebirth of Urban Housing
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books NA7533 .P63 2024ISBN: 0807007781Publication Date: 2024-03-26 -
Boston and the Making of a Global City
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books HC108.B65 O36 2025ISBN: 1625348622Publication Date: 2025-07-25 -
Beacon Hill Through Time
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books F73.68.B4 S25 2021ISBN: 1684730120Publication Date: 2021-03-29
-
Mattapan Through Time
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books F65 .S29 2023ISBN: 1634994515Publication Date: 2023-03-27
-
Where Futures Converge: Kendall Square and the Making of a Global Innovation Hub
by
Call Number: Sawyer New Books HC108.C19 B83 2022ISBN: 9780262046510Publication Date: 2022-05-10
-
Black Heritage TrailThe Museum of African American History (located very near Suffolk, at Joy Street and Smith Court, Beacon Hill) sponsors this walking tour of African-American historical sites.
-
Boston NeighborhoodsProvided by the Boston Redevelopment Authority, this site offers photos and maps, as well as information on planning initiatives, development projects, and community programs. Includes full-text publications.
-
The Boston Women's Heritage TrailThis site actually offers several walking tours of the Boston area, featuring locales significant to Boston herstory. Includes a list of research resources and publications about Boston women.
-
The Freedom Trail FoundationThis is the "official site" of the well-known walking tour of Boston's historical sites. Includes an online tour with plenty of photo images, selected links, and educator suggestions for further resources and lesson plans.