Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports:
Non-Partisan Analysis
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowWhen appropriate, ProQuest Congressional will include Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports as a separate group in your search results. These reports are authored by the research arm of the Library of Congress, for the benefit of Congress and their staff. The reports are well known for being carefully researched and nonpartisan.
- CRS Reports via HeinOnlineHeinOnline, a database known for legal and government resources, also contains the CRS Reports, however, the interface is less user-friendly.
Federal Register:
Primary Source of Government Information
- Federal RegisterOfficial website of the Office of the Federal Register. The site provides access to documents back to 1994, and a link is provided to each new daily issue.
- "Federal Register 101"This 3 page PDF document provides an overview of the history of the federal government's official newspaper.
- The Federal Register via the database Business Source CompleteFull text of the Federal Register, 10/18/2010 to present.
- The Federal Register via HeinOnline"The Federal Register is updated on a daily basis. Its coverage is comprehensive and begins from inception (1936). Also includes the CFR (Code of Federal Regulations) from inception (1938), Official US Bulletin (1917-1919), United States Government Manual from inception (1935), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents from inception (1965). "
Public Policy Debate & Analysis
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowFind information on both sides of a public policy debate. Search and access reports from over 300 active think tanks, research organizations, and advocacy groups.
Westlaw Campus Research
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowSelect Regulations to search or browse the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and state regulatory codes.
CQ Researcher:
Non-Partisan Background Information
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher is known for providing balanced and thorough coverage of thorny topics in the social sciences, which are frequent candidates for regulation.