Education Resource Guide: Government Resources

Includes teacher resources, parent guides, student financial aid information, full-text research and reports, and much more. Covers recent legislation, regulations, and policy issues. Searchable by topic and keyword. Some significant resources (pages) are listed below:

This is the "primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations." Topics include public schools/districts, elementary/secondary education, post secondary education, and the Nation's Report Card.

View data from several NCES sources including The Condition of Education which offers annual summaries of trends and statistics.

"Provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school."

"Provides projections for key education statistics, including enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary schools. Included are national data on enrollment and graduates for the past 15 years and projections to the year 2027, as well as state-level data ..."

Offers "statewide information in elementary/secondary education characteristics and finance, postsecondary education, public libraries, assessments, and selected demographics for all states."

ERIC is a national information system which provides access to education-related literature. It contains the largest education database in the world. This is the U.S. Department of Education's enhanced version. Includes some free documents previously available through fee-based services. ERIC is also available through a Sawyer Library database.

The National Education Research and Development Centers are funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute Education Sciences. "The mission of the R&D Centers is to contribute to the production and dissemination of rigorous evidence and products that provide practical solutions to important education problems in the United States." Centers offer various full-text research reports.

Provides reports and publications, policy documents, assessment tools, selected full-text laws, standards, and much more.

Provides extensive information on the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB) and it reauthorization. Includes policy documents, progress data by state, accountability plans and guidence, federal regulations, and more.

The NLE holds over 800 education journals, the complete ERIC microfiche collection, and the complete archives of the U.S. Department of Education documents. Offers on-site services, as well as assistance through phone, fax, and the internet.

U.S. Department of Education publications for ordering plus links to some free options.

This website includes pertinent state regulations and statutes, assessment and accountability documents and resources, curriculum frameworks, information booklets for families, teacher licensure information, news, and much more.

The Department’s core responsibilities are in the following areas: Academic Policy and Program Approval, Financial Aid, Fiscal and Capital Planning, Research and Performance Measurement, Workforce Development, and overseeing the Commonwealth’s Optional Retirement Program. The website includes texts of policy briefs, reports, and guidelines.