Chemistry Resource Guide: Library Databases

ACS Publications

Provides access to about 40 major journals of the American Chemical Society including the Journal of the American Chemical Society, Biochemistry and Environmental Science & Technology. Current coverage includes backfile to 1996. New 2010 publications include ACS Chemical Neuroscience, ACS Medicinal Chemistry Letters, and The Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters.

SciFinder-n

 

Provides access to the complete Chemical Abstracts database, indexing articles from journals and other publications; national and international patents; and data for substances and reactions. To access this database you will need to register for a username and password. Check your email within 48 hours of registering to complete the process.

For assistance using the database, contact the Chemistry Department.

Wiley Online Library Chemistry, polymers and materials science journals published by John Wiley & Sons, Inc. are included in this database plus more than 850 scholarly journals from the Blackwell Synergy database which merged with Wiley Interscience on July 1, 2008.

ScienceDirect This database from the publisher Elsevier includes about 335 chemistry and chemical engineering journals and book series, 220 full-text with an additional 115 where abstracts only are available. Includes titles with coverage from about 1995 such as Advances in Colloid and Interface Science, Biophysical Chemistry, Food Chemistry, and Chemical Engineering Journal.

SpringerLink Springer, a major publisher of scientific, technical, and medical books and journals, provides indexing and full-text for about 750 journals in this database. As of January 2005, all journals formerly hosted by Kluwer Online are also available through SpringerLink. The database includes approximately 175 chemistry and biochemistry journals. Not all of the SpringerLink search results are freely accessible.

Academic Search Complete Indexes and abstracts more than 8,000 journals. Provides full-text for more than 4,500 publications including 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. Publications cover a wide range of academic areas including chemistry, physics, biology, and medical sciences.

Academic OneFile Provides indexing and abstracting of more than 8,000 journals and magazines in the social sciences, humanities, and science and technology. Full-text is provided for about two-thirds of the publications.

Medline with Full Text Premier medical database from the National Library of Medicine, with access to over 11 million references and abstracts. Some linked full-text is available.