An interactive web version of the Periodic Table of the Elements. Includes thousands of graphics showing structures and periodic properties of the elements. Also recommended is the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Physics Laboratory's Elemental Data Index (http://www.nist.gov/physlab/data/edi.cfm) where you can search for an element, get data for the element, and link to all of the NIST databases in which the element appears.
"KnowledgeDoor's interactive periodic table is not unlike others found on websites such as...WebElements...that provide quick and facile access to molar mass and the number of subatomic particles. Its unique value lies in its single-click access to multitudinous physical, electronic, and thermodynamic properties for all elements--anything from elasticity to interatomic distance and everything in between." (Choice magazine review).
This database created by the National Institute of Standards and Technology contains thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data for thousands of chemical compounds. The NIST Data Gateway page enables you to search NIST databases by keyword, property and substance, and also provides links to free NIST online databases such as the Atomic Spectra Database.
Free database of enzyme functional data that is maintained and developed at the Institute of Biochemistry and Bioinformatics at the Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany.
"To improve chemical safety and provide more streamlined access to information on chemicals, EPA has built and is populating a new database. This new database, named ChemView, greatly improves access to health and safety data on chemicals regulated under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). It contains information EPA receives and develops about chemicals including those on EPA’s Safer Chemical Ingredient List."
Search for molecules using a variety of formats such as trade name, formula, and CAS number. In addition to text searches, you can search by drawing chemical structures using the free ChemWriter molecule editor that runs directly in your web browser. Search results include links to more than 150 leading chemical suppliers.
