Selected Online Reference Sources
- Gale eBooks
- The GVRL database includes several good online life sciences encyclopedias. Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia provides extensive coverage of the animal world. Entries often include maps, photographs, and beautiful color illustrations. Also available in print (REF QL7 .G7813 2004). The Biology online encylopedia aims to provide "as broad an introduction as possible to the many facets of biology" as well as offering in-depth treatment of topics such as molecular genetics and human physiology. Genetics covers all aspects of genetics including ethical, legal, and social issues. Extra features include color photos and line drawings, a glossary of scientific terms, and a discussion of careers in genetics. Animal Sciences addresses topics such as how animals develop, animal ecology and behavior, and interactions between animals and humans. Plant Sciences is a 4 volume encyclopedia covering all aspects of plant sciences. The Encyclopedia of Bioethics contains original articles, including bibliographies, on bioethics topics.
- Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
- This reference sources contains brief but comprehensive summaries of all aspects of the human brain and nervous system.
- Encyclopedia of Fish Physiology: From Genome to Environment
- Described by the publishers as "the first ever Encyclopedia of Fish Physiology. It contains over 250 entries written by the world's foremost authorities on fish physiology with topic coverage from fish genomics through to behavior. Extensive entries in systems physiology are integrated with anatomy, the environment, and phylogentics to provide a comprehensive coverage of the field."
Selected Reference Books
Atlas of Human AnatomyCall Number: REF QM25 .N46 2003ISBN: 1929007116Dr. Frank Netter's clearly labelled and beautiful illustrations make this an excellent atlas for the student of anatomy.
CRC Handbook of Medicinal HerbsCall Number: REF RS164 .D83 2001ISBN: 0849329280Covers hundreds of species of folk medicinal herbs. Provides description of use, toxicity, and common and scientific names.
The Dog & CatCall Number: REF SF767.D6 D66 1996 v.3ISBN: 0723424411This is volume 3 of The Color Atlas of Veterinary Anatomy. "The book presents the important features of regional and topographical anatomy in a series of full-colour photographs of detailed dissections."
Encyclopedia of Life SciencesCall Number: REF QH302.5 .E54 2002ISBN: 1561592749The twenty volumes that constitute the Encyclopedia cover ten core areas of the biological sciences including biochemistry. Volume 20 includes: an alphabetical listing of the articles; a subject index; a glossary; a study guide
of core introductory articles; and an appendix containing additional reference
information.
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body, 30th editionCall Number: REF QM23.2 .G73 1985ISBN: 081210644XThe most famous of all anatomy texts.
Henderson's Dictionary of BiologyCall Number: REF QH302.5 .H45 2011 (15th edition)ISBN: 1408234300Covers wide range of topics within the biological sciences. Includes simplified, up-to-date classification tables for the kingdoms of living organisms."
Merck Index, 15th EditionCall Number: REF DESK RS51 .M4 2013ISBN: 1849736707Published by Merck Research Laboratories. Entries cover chemicals, laboratory reagents, drugs and pharmaceuticals, and naturally occurring substances and plants. Includes ring structures and Chemical Abstracts Service registry numbers.
Scientific and Common Names of 7,000 Vascular Plants in the United StatesCall Number: REF QK96 .B68 1995ISBN: 089054171XRelates scientific names of vascular plants with their common or vernacular names: scientific names by genus; common names followed by scientific name; synonyms of the scientific name cross-referenced to the scientific name; and genera of vascular plants arranged by family.
Synopsis and Classification of Living OrganismCall Number: REF QH83 .S89Two volume reference work that presents the higher level taxonomy of living organisms. Synoptic articles of all taxa down to the family level.
Walker's Mammals of the WorldCall Number: REF QL703 .W222 1999ISBN: 0801857899A major reference work in 2 volumes that includes information and
photographs of each genus.
