Forensic Science Resource Guide: Library Databases (Journal Articles)

This database is a "collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published in more than 4,000 journals internationally." Linked full-text in many cases. Lots of references for articles on forensics in medical sciences, biochemistry and molecular biophysics, toxicology, and forensic methods and techniques.

This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 5,500 publications, including full-text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. Among the subjects included in this database are forensic chemistry, DNA fingerprinting, and forensic psychology.

Like Academic Search Complete, this is also a multi-disciplinary database providing bibliographic information and full-text articles from more than 10,000 popular and peer-reviewed journals. Among the subjects included in this database are forensic chemistry, toxicology, genetics, anthropology, ballistics, and psychology.

Consider searching these 3 databases simultaneously to find articles about forensic psychology. PsycINFO indexes and abstracts scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. PsycARTICLES provides the full-text of scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from over 60 journals plus chapters from selected APA books. PsycBOOKS is a full-text database consisting of chapters from over 1,500 books published by the APA and other scholarly publishers plus the contents of the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.

JSTOR, the self-described "scholarly journal archive," includes full-text forensic science articles found mostly in the anthropology, biological sciences, and general science categories. If you are doing historical research on forensic science, you will appreciate JSTOR's policy of including the entire backfile of journals in its database.

Searchable deep backfile and current issues of forensic science (30 titles), psychology, criminology, and
scientific journals containing forensic science articles published by Sage Publications. Limit search to "SAGE Content Available to Me" to retrieve full-text articles available to the Suffolk University community.

John Wiley & Sons, a major science, technology, and medical publisher, produces this database. We do not have access to all of the database content and there is no way to limit searches to content available to us. However, we do have access to the full-text of about 1,400 of its scholarly journals. There is some coverage of forensic topics in the life and physical sciences journals and you will find more articles in the areas of chemistry, behavioral sciences, and psychology. Coverage is from the mid-1990's. Journal titles from the Blackwell Synergy database were merged into this database in mid-2008.

Springer is a major publisher of scientific, technical, and medical (STM) books and journals. Includes some coverage of forensic science topics from publications such as Methods in Molecular Biology, Forensic DNA Typing Protocols, and International Journal of Legal Medicine.

HighWire, a division of the Stanford University Libraries, produces this high-quality database of more than 1,000 scholarly journals from over 140 publishers but you may be asked if you want to purchase some of the articles. Journals in the biological sciences, chemistry, criminology, and psychology in this database may be relevant to your forensic science research. You may include PubMed as well as HighWire-hosted journals in your searches.

Produced by the National Library of Medicine, this database provides authoritative biomedical articles on medicine, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Contains some links to full-text articles.

Criminal Justice Abstracts covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing. The database contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice. This enhanced EBSCOhost version contains full text for more than 200 magazines and journals as well as selected full text books & monographs.

This database from the publisher Wiley includes articles on forensic science, medicine, and psychiatry and mitochondrial dna from journals such as Forensic Science International and International Journal of Law and Psychiatry.

Self-described as a "valuable aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals... published by small societies and other not-for-profit organizational publishers." Useful for articles on forensic entomology.