French, German, & Spanish Studies Resource Guide: Spanish Studies

This website, authored by Juan Manuel Soto Arrivi, the Director of Instructional Technology at Indiana University, provides some basic tips and exercises related to Spanish grammar. It also includes links to information on Spain, Latin America, and Spanish Language Literature.

"Acceso gratuito al Diccionario de la Real Academia Española. (Vigésima segunda edición)"

Includes an appendix section for grammar conjugations, and other thematic articles on grammar.

"Acceso gratuito a diferentes diccionarios: monolingüe, sinónimos y antónimos y bilingües (español-inglés y español-francés)"

"Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Spain and Portugal."

"Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Latin America."

Although this is not a dictionary, the toolbar Lexibar gives assistance in writing by providing "access to special characters not always available on your keyboard." The software is free, but requires installation.

"The Library of Iberian Resources Online (LIBRO) is a joint project of the American Academy of Research Historians of Medieval Spain and the University of Central Arkansas." The Libro site makes available scholarly materials "drawn from recent, but out-of-print university press monographs." Resources are presented, chapter by chapter, in full-text. There is an author catalog, a title catalog, and a website search engine.

Richard Hacken, European Studies Bibliographer, at the Harold B. Lee Library, Brigham Young University, created this directory to primary documents of Spanish history. Items range from a 1908 translation of Visigothic laws towards Spanish Jews, to english translations of the Spanish constitution (1978 version with revisions through 1992).

Here is a website for finding the full-text of verse by Spanish language poets. From the opening screen you can pull up a menu of authors in chronological, alphabetical, or century order. You can also search for poems by title or first line.

"Hispana brings together the digital collections of archives, libraries and museums according to the Open Archives Initiative being promoted by the European Union..."

Sponsored by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), Iberian Studies Web provides access to "scholarly resources in Iberian Studies (for Spain, Portugal and Andorra)." The website offers both Spanish and Portuguese materials, dictionaries, statistics, and a list of news resources. A related portal is the WESS Iberian Language and Literature Web.

VoS is a massive literature / humanities project based at the University of California at Santa Barbara.

Sponsored by the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas at Austin, LANIC states that its mission is "to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America." They try to provide resources for researchers and academics, as well as for the general public. LANIC provides over 12,000 links that have been "editorially reviewed."

This unusual website, based at the University of Manitoba in Canada, provides a cyberspace for Spanish-speaking writers from around the world to post and exchange their stories. Since the project launched in 1996, Proyecto Sherezade has published over 150 stories by authors from 25 different nations.

El Pais is the largest circulation daily newspaper of Spain. Current news is freely available; archives are available only to subscribers, however older news from El Pais is available to current Suffolk faculty and students through LexisNexis Academic.

Eufeeds, produced by the European Journalism Centre, is an RSS news aggregator that provides national, regional, and local news feeds from over 1000 European news sources. This is the eufeeds section for Spain.

NOTE: The Country Studies are online versions of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army between 1986 and 1998, and therefore should be viewed as sources for historical rather than current information.

The (english version) website of the National Library of Spain.

"La BDH es un recurso en línea que proporciona el acceso a más de 10.000 documentos digitalizados de la Biblioteca Nacional. La novedosa arquitectura tecnológica que la sustenta cumple todos los estándares y protocolos internacionales, realidad que nos facilita la contribución activa de nuestro patrimonio cultural en el proyecto de Biblioteca Digital Europea."

This is the online portal to the Library of Catalonia. It includes an online brochure, in english, describing the various collections.

The European Library "provides a central gateway to access the online catalogues and digital collections of Europe’s national libraries." Users may search the collections of 20 national libraries at once, or users may browse the digital collections and catalogues of Europe's individual national libraries.