Finding Library Books
Enter Title, Author, or Keyword in the Suffolk University Library Catalog.
Results may be printed books, ebooks (online access), or journal titles (both print and online).
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Encyclopedia of Religion 2005 15 vols.ISBN: 0028657330Online through Gale Virtual Reference
Is considered a standard reference in the field. Offers a cross-cultural approach emphasizing religion's role within everyday life.
Religions of the World 2010 6 vols.ISBN: 1576072231Online through Gale Virtual Reference
Provides global coverage of religion.
Oxford Dictionary of World ReligionsISBN: 0198662424REF BL31 .O84 1997 (print)
Brief entries describing religious beliefs, practices, personalities, history, texts, and more.
Cambridge Companions of Philosophy, Religion, & CultureCall Number: Available at Cambridge Companions OnlineISBN: 0521485932Online
This series offers specially-commissioned collections of essays intended to serve as reference works for students and non-specialists. Searchable database.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America 2010 4 volsISBN: 0872895807Online through Gale Virtual Reference
"Covers the significant religious denominations and movements that have originated or flourished in North America, from the beginning of European settlement to the present day."
Encyclopedia of Religion and WarISBN: 0415942462REF BL 80.3 E53 2004
Provides historical and cultural information necessary for understanding concepts of war and political violence in the major religions of the world. Includes scriptural, doctrinal, and state views. Each article is signed and contains a bibliography.
Encyclopedia of African and African-American ReligionsISBN: 0815305001REF BL 2462.5 .E53 2001
An up-to-date guide to religions of African and African-American people with special attention given to movements in Africa and the religions of the African Diaspora in North America, South America, Central America, and the Caribbean.
Encyclopaedia JudaicaISBN: 0028659287Online through Gale Virtual Reference
This title contains the complete text of the 16 print volumes plus yearbooks. Includes photos, images, and maps. A comprehensive source on the Jewish world. Online.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism 2004 2 vols.ISBN: 0415556244Online through Gale Virtual Reference
Details the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices, as well as its different schools and sect.
Encyclopedia of Early ChristianityISBN: 0815333196REF BR162.2 .E53 1990
Almost 1,000 entries covering the time period from the life of Jesus to 600 AD. Includes discussion of people, places, doctrines, practice, art, liturgy, heresies, and schisms.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic WorldISBN: 0195305132Online
A comprehensive, six-volume set which covers all aspects of this religion and the areas it affects: society, politics, economics, everyday life, culture, and thought.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World 2004ISBN: 0028656032Online through Gale Virtual Reference
Provides thematic articles, biographies, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
2 vols.
Encyclopedia of the Qur'an 2006 6 vols.Online through Gale Virtual Reference
Encyclopedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history. Six volumes.
Dictionary of SaintsISBN: 0385515200REF BX4655.8 .D44
Short, informative entries that describe some 5,000 saints. Also, available online through ebrary.
Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and ReligionISBN: 0192802887REF BL715 .O845 2003
This title is drawn from The Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd (1996). It covers Greek and Roman myth and religion, as well as regional religions of the Graeco-Roman world plus entries on Judaism and Christianity in the Hellenistic and Roman periods.- Oxford Dictionary of PopesCall Number: SAWYER REFERENCE BX955.2 .K45 1986REF BX955.2 .K45 1986 (print)
Concise biographies of officially recognized popes, as well as those classified as antipopes. Each entry contains a bibliography. 
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church 3rd Ed.Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE BR95 .O8 2005ISBN: 0192802909Brief entries with bibliographies that discuss the history, personalities and institutions of the Christian Church (Catholic and Protestant).
Popular Dictionary of JudaismISBN: 0700703578REF BM50 .S3 1995
An alphabetical survey of Jewish thought, custom, and usage.
Bibles & Concordances
Holy BibleISBN: 0199535949REF BS185 .O98 2008
Contains the authorized King James version Old and New Testaments plus the Apocrypha.
Holy Qur'an; Text, Translation and CommentaryISBN: 0940368323REF BP109 1988
Provides English translation and commentary.- Interpreter's BibleREF BS491.2 .I55 12 vols.
Includes the King James and the Revised Standard Versions plus explanations for each Book. - Who's Who in the New TestamentComprehensive coverage of personalities in the New Testament. Includes history and Biblical narrative.
The Torah: the Five Books of Moses. 3rd ed.ISBN: 0827600151REF BS1223 1992
A new translation according to the Masoretic text.
Jewish Study BibleISBN: 0195297547REF BS895 .J4 2004
Includes the Torah, Nevi'im, and Kethuvim. Jewish scholars introduce each book and provide extensive commentary. In addition, the volume offers two dozen scholarly essays on interpretation.
Bible and the SaintsISBN: 2080135643REF BS513.2 .D8313 1994
Provides short histories of the saints and Bible characters plus illustrations and explanations of representative iconography.- Interpreter's Dictionary of the BibleREF BS440 .I63 4 vols. + supplement
Both a dictionary and an encyclopedia, this work covers terms, personalities, and concepts from the Bible. It also includes history and archaeology of the region. - New Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the BibleREF BS425 .S8 1996
This is a thorough verbal index to the Bible as it exists in the partly Hebrew and partly Greek original text and the Authorized and Revised English Versions.
