It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The series gives a chronological overview of events and trends of the twentieth century, with each volume covering a single decade, from 1900 to 1999. The individual volumes are divided into topical sections, such as arts, lifestyle and social trends, and media.
Call Number: View online at Gale Virtual Reference Library
A 10 volume set - one volume per decade, 1900-1999, delivered electronically from the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Each volume contains "full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade." Examples include oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV and movie scripts, letters, legal decisions, and newspaper articles.
These three volumes cover American cultural and intellectual history from the perspective of time periods (1771 - 2000), themes (politics, economics, social factors, and the arts), and cultural regions (New England, the Midwest, Appalachia).
Although this is an older set, it does provide scholarly essays with extensive bibliographies on topics ranging from games and toys to the self-help tradition. There is also an appendix on the study of popular culture.
A single volume encyclopedia devoted to mass media - the vehicle of news, information, and popular culture. In addition to the expected entries on the press, radio, and television, there are also entries for the topics of docudramas, libel, and brief biographical articals.
These two series provide lengthy discussion of representative films since 1927. Collectively the two series cover over 1200 films. The first series (4 vols.) covers films released between 1927 - 1980, and the second series covers films between 1928-1981 (6 volumes). U.S., U.K., Canadian, Australian, and Jamaican films are included.
This volume defines the features and discusses the evolution of 12 film genres: Action-Adventure, Comedy, Costume Film, Epic, Film Noir, Horror, Musical, Science Fiction and Fantasy, Suspense, War Film, Western, and Woman's Film.
This volume includes an introduction to Spanish cinema by period, 1896 - 2008; a dictionary of Spanish film titles, actors, institutes, and directors; and a bibliography of Spanish and English language criticism and resources by time period, Spanish region, and major directors and actors.