Finding Library Books
Search by Keyword, Title, or Author (last name, first name).
Results may be printed books, ebooks, streaming video, or journal titles (both print and online).
Sample of Print & Online Encyclopedias
World ErasISBN: 0787645036Various call numbers.
This series comprises 10 volumes (and growing) which examine major civilizations that have existed from antiquity to modern times. There are ten chapters per volume, covering such period topics as major events, the arts, social class and economy, politics, religion, and science. Each chapter is arranged into 5 types of material: chronology, overview, topical, biographical, and documentary entries. Includes illustrations, maps, and diagrams. Each section of a chapter includes a bibliography.
The Cambridge World History of FoodISBN: 0521402166Online through Gale Virtual Reference
A history of food and nutrition, and their relation to human health and culture. Includes a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and includes a dictionary of plant foods.
Chronology of World History. (4 vols.)ISBN: 1576071553REF.D11 .M39 1999
This four volume set, covering prehistory through 1998, includes 70,000 events. Entries range from art and economics to politics and science. Fully indexed.
The Civilizations of Africa by Call Number: SAWYER LIBRARY 3RD FLOOR DT14 .E36 2002ISBN: 0813920841Publication Date: 2002-04-29Describes the civilizations of the ancient world from prehistory to approximately 1000 C.E. Covers the social, political, scientific and technological, economic, and cultural events.
Dictionary of the Middle AgesISBN: 0684190737REF. D114 .D5 1982
These volumes include sometimes lengthy (10,000 words) and sometimes brief (100 words) articles describing all aspects of the Middle Ages (A.D. 500-1500). Articles contain extensive bibliographies and are signed.
Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2007ISBN: 0028659287Online through Gale Virtual Reference
2nd ed.
An organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, and much more.
Encyclopedia of Eastern EuropeISBN: 0815300921REF. DJK6 .E53 2000
Includes seven long articles on the history of each primary country-Poland, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Yugoslavia, Romania, Bulgaria, and Albania. Covers history, government, economics, and culture. Articles are signed and include bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, 2008ISBN: 0684315904Online through Gale Virtual Reference
Provides a comprehensive view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Encyclopedia of Modern China 2009ISBN: 0684315661Online through Gale Virtual Reference
Covers the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature of this civilization from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the present day.
Encyclopedia of North American IndiansISBN: 0395669219Online through EBSCO
Comprehensive signed articles covering all aspects of North American Indian history, including language, gender, tribal history, child rearing, biographies, and agriculture.
Encyclopedia of Russian HistoryISBN: 0028656938Online through Gale Virtual Reference
A comprehensive description of Russia's people, politics, economics, religion, and social systems. Articles cover the period from the earliest beginnings of the Russian nation to the rise and fall of the Soviet Union. 4 vols.
The Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict, 2008ISBN: 1851098410Online through Gale Virtual Reference
Provides insights into the military, political, social, cultural, and religious origins of the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Encyclopedia of the PalestiniansISBN: 081603043XREF. DS113.6 .E53 2000
Comprehensive volume covering modern Palestinian history and society (1831-Present). All articles are written by scholars in the field. Includes an annotated bibliography, glossary, and chronology.- Great Events from History. (12 Vol. Series-3 vols. each title)Various call numbers.
Articles are divided into 4 titles: Ancient and Medieval series, Modern European series, Worldwide Twentieth Century series, and American series. Each article within a given title consists of 4 sections: (1) Quick reference material, showing time, place, and key people; (2) Summary of events, a journalistic description of the event; (3) Pertinent literature, where scholarly works about the events are reviewed; and (4) Additional recommended reading, which lists annotated additional works. 
Historical Dictionary of IraqISBN: 0810843307REF. DS70.9 .G47 2004
Covers Iraq's history from ancient Mesopotamia to the present-day. Includes a historical overview, a country profile, economic information, political institutions, and wars.
