Accounting Resource Guide: Library Databases

Provides access to EDGAR filings, annual reports, detailed financial data, names of officers and directors, recent news, and a description of the business. The Sawyer Library has three licenses for simultaneous use of MergentOnline, therefore when ending the session, be sure to choose "Logout."

This is the digitized form of the former Moody’s Manuals (the Industrial Manual, OTC Industrial Manual, Bank and Finance Manual, Public Utility Manual, and Transportation Manual). Company information dates back as far as 1909.

In the 'Guided Search' section > select 'Company Info' > open the drop down box to find the SEC filings.

Within a company profile, look for "Company Information > Financials" which provides an income statement, balance sheet, cash flow, and ratios.

RIA Checkpoint provides primary tax material as well as secondary analysis for federal, state, and local taxation, estate planning, pensions, and international taxation.

Features thousands of full-text journals, industry reports, business and economic periodicals like The Economist and Sloan Management Review, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal.

Provides indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, including the full-text of the Harvard Business Review back to 1922. Non-journal content includes industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses.

Coverage of international economic literature.

Provides access to legal periodicals and focuses on retrospective coverage (many pre-1980 titles). Includes the Federal Register from Volume I.

A highly selective, multidisciplinary collection of over 1500 academic journals. The Sawyer Library has enhanced this collection with additional subscriptions in the life sciences, business studies, and Irish studies.

Nexis is known for its coverage of newspapers and legal materials. Includes selected accounting publications.

Collection of scholarly, peer-reviewed, journals. Subjects covered include accounting and finance.

Springer is a scholarly publisher of economic, business, law, and accounting journals.

Searchable full text of the WSJ Eastern Edition. Coverage runs from January 2, 1984 through the present day.

Citation indexing tool, which allows users to navigate the citation network of scholarship.

Includes extensive coverage of accounting literature.

Access to competitive benchmarking data: industry benchmarks compiled from D&B®’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios.

Part of Mergent Archives. US corporations, partnerships and proprietorships both public and privately owned, in all size ranges, and includes over 800 different lines of business as defined by the US Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code numbers. Coverage from 1979 to 2021.