African Studies Resource Guide: Selected Electronic Resources

This multidisciplinary electronic resource is based on the Encyclopedia of Africa and covers the continent from pre-historic times to the present. Topics include geography, religion, ecology, music, and tribal groups, and there are many illustrations including photographs.

This comprehensive encyclopedia on Africa and the African diaspora throughout the world, especially African American history, is part of the Oxford African American Studies Center (OAASC) edited by Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Harvard University.

A "regional history" in the Cambridge Histories Online series, this title covers African history from the earliest times (B.C.E.) through 1975. Contributors to each volume cover such disciplines as history, political science, and sociology.

This title in the Cambridge Histories Online series covers both the literature and "its complex relationship with African social and geopolitical history" in Africa and the Black Diaspora. Also available in Sawyer Library: REF.PN841 .I74 2004.

Each book in this series focuses on one country and covers historical background, religion, family, literature, arts, cuisine, traditional dress, and other topics. Check the series link in the catalog to see which volumes are available.

A comprehensive A-Z listing of about 500 entries which contains a search engine and can also be searched by lists of topics and themes. A "first" in the field as it looks at African religion from a more African point of view.

Edited by Philip Mattar, U.S. Institute of Peace, this comprehensive set includes genealogies, maps, and photographs. About a third of the articles are biographies. Covers history of the area from 1800 on and includes an"outline of entries" with related concepts listed under major headings. This new edition includes more articles on women and gender.

This Greenwood ebook in the Food Cultures Around the World series focuses on agriculture, food habits, cooking, "culinary tradition," trends and changes in food culture, and the "role of food in ... human culture." Covers countries in the Western, Southern, Eastern, and Central regions of Africa.

Part of the Greenwood Press Reference Guides to the World's Cinema series. Covers African cinema from its earliest days through the post-colonial period up to the 1990s, analyzing about 40 major films which convey an "African perspective." Includes bio-bibliographies of major filmmakers.

This work covers African history from ancient civilizations to the current period and its recent issues. Well illustrated with many photographs.