Library Databases for New Products and Manufacturing
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMajor EBSCO database covering nearly every academic field, including science and technology, with full-text and indexing and abstracting for both popular and scholarly journals. Can be useful for information on new products.
- Academic OneFileThomson Gale's Academic OneFile is another multidisciplinary database with excellent full-text offerings. Slightly smaller in scope than Academic Search Complete, but with some unique journal holdings.
- AccessScienceThis online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology can be searched alphabetically, by keyword or phrase, or browsed by topic. Categories include agriculture, general science & technology, navigation, and physics. Articles may cover manufacturing processes and "operating principles" for products and many contain images, including animated videos.
- Building Green SuiteIntegrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News, and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies. This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources. Full-text.
- Business Source CompleteThe world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
- GreenFileIncludes article content on all aspects of the human impact on the environment. Indexing, with some full-text. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and green technology.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowA multiplicity of full-text periodicals covering an array of subjects - including manufacturing information. For example, this database contains manufacturing information for fighter jets, Pez candy, and aluminum water bottles.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
- ScienceDirectThis Elsevier database includes over 2,000 academic e-journals with full text, with some full-text going back to 1995. ScienceDirect provides high-quality peer-reviewed journal literature in all areas of the sciences, social sciences, and even business.
- Science (AAAS) MagazineOne of the world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary, Science Magazine's database includes issues since January 1997. The most current issue of Science is also included. Full text for issues prior to January 1997 are available through the JSTOR database.
"AAAS" stands for American Association for the Advancement of Science.
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowThis highly approachable Gale database provides information on all aspects of science and technology. Explains "how things work" through topic overviews, experiments, biographies, and images, including videos.
- Wiley Online LibraryA multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities. Wiley Online Library delivers access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals. While primarily peer-reviewed journal literature, the Wiley database also includes a certain number of eBook and eReference materials.
An "open padlock" icon indicates what is available from Sawyer Library and what is available for outside purchase.
