Funding/Grant databases
Here are two resources which focus on collecting grant and other funding opportunities in one space:
- Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new windowProvides information on 140,000 grantmakers and 3.9 million grants.
- Pivot-RP This link opens in a new windowFormerly known as COS-Pivot, this database collects funding opportunities from a large variety of sources to one useful place.
Topical databases
Here are several subject-specific databases that can be useful for nonprofit research. If your organization serves the LGBT community, then try delving into LGBT Life with Full Text. If you are working on a grant for a domestic violence service group, you might want to look in SocINDEX with Full Text for articles on the issue that include data or information you could use in your proposal. Other library links available through the Subject Lists will help you think creatively about which resources to explore.
- Business Source CompleteThe best of the business databases, BSC provides indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. Full-Text includes more than 1,800 trade journals and general business magazines, more than 2,400 peer-reviewed journals and nearly 20,000 industry reports, It covers nearly every area of business, and that includes the public sector (government management), as well as all manner of nonprofits. Specific nonprofit-oriented publications available full-text here include Nonprofit World, International Journal of Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Marketing, Third Sector, Nonprofit World Funding Alert, and Nonprofit Management & Leadership.
- ABI/INFORM CompleteDelivering over 6,800 journals, nearly 80% of which are in full-text, ABI/INFORM Complete is another comprehensive business database. But it is sloppier to use than BSC. Full-text sources include Fundraising Success, Nonprofit World and the article content from the Wall Street Journal. For tips on how to use this file effectively, see this page from another of our LibGuides.
- Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new windowContains over 93,000 bibliographic records related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Boston GlobeResearching a local nonprofit, foundation, or issues related to the Bay State and New England? Then this single-publication database is worth checking. The Globe is no longer available through LexisNexis, so you must check this separate file.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database from EBSCO, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new windowContains American Economic Association's EconLit reference database as well as full text of nearly 600 journals.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
- Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text access to information in many areas of health policy, including health care access, care quality, and financing.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIncludes full text of more than 860 journals (dating back to 1908), as well as 830 books, and 16,800 conference papers.
