Asian Studies Resource Guide: History

Continued by Volume 1 of the The Cambridge history of China (15 volumes) which picks up from 221 B.C.

6 volumes covering ancient Japan to the twentieth century.

Some of the topics included are: the Portuguese in India; Architecture and Art of the Deccan Sultanates; The Sikhs of the Punjab; The Economy of Modern India, 1860–1970; and Women in Modern India.

This series comprises 10 volumes (and growing) which examine major civilizations that have existed from antiquity to modern times. Chapters cover such period topics as major events, the arts, social class and economy, politics, religion, and science. Each chapter includes a chronology, overview, topical, biographical, and documentary entries, and a bibliography. Also includes illustrations, maps, and diagrams. Imperial China, 617-1644 is the seventh volume (REF. DS749.3 .I46 2003 Vol. 7).

REF. DS705 .P47 1999
Articles discuss all aspects of the history and culture of China. Entries cover major cities and provinces, geography, historical eras and figures, government and economics, religion, language, and more.

REF DS777.8 .S88 2011
Contains alphabetically arranged entries on people, events and "other foreign-policy aspects" plus an introductory essay, a chronology of important events, a map, and bibliography.

REF DS904.8 .N34 2004
In addition to concise entries, this dictionary includes a chronology of historical events, maps, and an extensive bibliography.

REF DS904 .S68 1993
This is a 2-volume set that presents essays which discuss important topics in Korean culture and history. Volume 1 examines Korea from the origins of Korean culture to the sixteenth century while Volume 2 covers the seventeenth century to the modern period.

REF E184.A75 A8287 2010
The first volume of this set discusses the culture and history of Bangladeshi, Burmese, Chinese , and Filipino Americans. The second volume covers the history and culture of Indian, Indonesian, Japanese, Korean, Laotian and Hmong, Malaysian, Mongolian, Nepalese, Pacific Islander, Pakistani, Singaporean, Sri Lankan, Taiwanese, Thai, Tibetan American, and Vetnamese Americans.