Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Presidential Elections: Library Databases

Library Databases

Political Science Complete
Provides full text for over 385 publications, and indexing for over 800 journals. Includes more than 165 full-text reference books and monographs and over 27,000 full text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
 
CQ Press Political Reference Suite
CQ Press Political Reference Suite offers the CQ Almanac which provides annual analysis of legislation and policy in the U.S. Congress from 1945 through 2006. The Historic Documents Series, includes primary documents and analysis (updated yearly since 1972) covering presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions, U.S. governmental reports, and more. The Suite also includes Congress and the Nation, which covers actions of the U.S. Congress from 1945-2004, including key votes. The Political Handbook of the World is described as "the most authoritative resource for political information on more than 200 countries," and Politics in America, offers profiles and assessments of every member of Congress. The Supreme Court Yearbook covers essential information of the U.S. Supreme Court and is updated yearly since 1989. In addition, the Washington Information Directory offers the "essential guide to key contacts at government agencies and national organizations." Vital Statistics on American Politics provides data on social and economic policy, Congress, the Executive branch, elections, the media, and more.
 
CQ Researcher
Published by CQ Press, CQ Researcher provides 12,000-word reports 44 times a year, covering a single theme in each issue. Each report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues in fields, such as health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
 
CQ Weekly
Provides in-depth coverage of the U.S. Congress, including status of bills, votes, amendments, and committee activity. Searchable by topic, keyword, or date.
 
HeinOnline
This is an image-based, comprehensive, searchable database that provides all material from its inception, including the Federal Register, all U.S. treaties and agreements, every published U.S. Supreme Court decision, a Legal Classics Library, and over 650 law review journals.
 
Sage Journals Online
Sage Journals Online consists of PDF online content to ALL the academic journals published by the scholarly publisher, Sage, back to 1999. This is approximately 450 peer-reviewed journals covering various fields, including political science.
 
Academic Search Complete
Indexes, abstracts, and provides full-text to over 5,990 periodicals, including more than 5,030 peer-reviewed journals in nearly every academic field.
 
JSTOR
A full-text collection of back issues of core scholarly journals, covering specific subject areas, including political science and election studies. Years covered generally begin with volume I and continue to the most recent five years.
 
Academic OneFile (InfoTrac)
Academic OneFile is Gale's major source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles. It provides extensive coverage in all academic subjects and offers millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text.
 
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database of journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals. Subjects covered include political science and election studies.
 
Polling the Nations
A compilation of surveys conducted by over 700 polling organizations in the U.S. and in other countries.
 
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Science 2d ed.
Searchable encyclopedia covering the social and behavioral sciences. Topics covered include political systems, political behavior, political parties, reform, and much more.
 
Oxford Journals Online
Provides online access to most Oxford journals. Includes nearly 20 political science journals.
 
Wall Street Journal (Proquest)
Provides abstracts and full-text articles and includes backfiles prior to 1986.
 
Social Science Citation Index (Web of Science)
Social Science Citation Index is a citation indexing and search tool for the social sciences provided by Thomson Reuters. It provides abstracts and the tools to, analyze citations.