GIS: Geographic Information Science/Systems: Geographic Resources & Data

A time-line map, plotting the wave of foreclosures in Massachusetts.

The Division for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention of Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has created an interactive atlas of heart disease. "This application allows users to view county-level maps of heart disease and stroke, along with maps of social environmental conditions and health services for the entire United States or for a chosen state or territory."

"Data.gov is the home of the US government’s open data.
You can find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations." Resources include "AirAtlas: Air Quality in National Parks," the "Earthquake Hazards Program," and "Climate Data in Action."

The City of New York has enacted legislation that required the creation of an online crime map, to provide public safety information about NYC's streets. The map itself is available at: http://maps.nyc.gov/crime/ .

Self-described by Google: "Governments, nonprofits and businesses have some of the most valuable mapping data in the world, but it’s often locked away and not accessible to the public. With the goal of making this information more readily available to the world, today we’re launching Google Maps Gallery, a new way for organizations to share and publish their maps online via Google Maps Engine."

The USGS is "the Nation's largest water, earth, and biological science and civilian mapping agency..."

These mapping applications illustrate just one small portion of the resources and activities of the United States Geological Survey (USGS).

"The Boston Atlas is the BRA's (Boston Redevelopment Authority) public internet mapping application. It includes data from many city agencies, including the Assessing Department and the Boston Water and Sewer Commission, as well as information from neighboring towns and state agencies."

"The BRA guides physical, social, and economic change in Boston's neighborhoods and its downtown ..."

The Boston Research Map is part of the Harvard WorldMap. It is an "online, open source mapping platform developed to lower barriers for scholars who wish to explore, visualize, edit, and publish geospatial information." Use the map to visualize data from the Boston Area Research Initiative.

The Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation, at Harvard University's Kennedy School, has made available a searchable public database of 'solution' projects based on public sector data.

"Through the Office of Geographic Information (MassGIS), the Commonwealth has created a comprehensive, statewide database of spatial information for mapping and analysis supporting emergency response, environmental planning and management, transportation planning, economic development, and transparency in state government operations."

"The MetroBoston DataCommon is an interactive data portal and online mapping tool that provides a wealth of information about the region’s people, communities and neighborhoods through a wide variety of topics..."

"As one of the cornerstones of the U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) National Geospatial Program, The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation."

"OpenStreetMap is a free worldwide map, created by people like you. The data is free to download and use under its open license. "

The Census tagline: "Measuring America—People, Places, and Our Economy."

"The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources."

This collection of digitized maps is provided by the University of Texas Libraries, The University of Texas at Austin. Many of the maps presented here are in the public domain, and are not subject to copyright restrictions. The collection includes current, historical, and thematic maps.

An extensive collection of links to GIS related data.

A list of "free and open source applications" for "creating data maps."

"JournalMap is a scientific literature search engine that empowers you to find relevant research based on location and biophysical variables as well as traditional keyword searches." ... "All publications are geotagged based on reported location information and plotted on a world map showing where the research was conducted allowing you to easily visualize the research occurring in specific areas and show you where data gaps might exist."