Selected Online Publications
- Atlas of Global DevelopmentPublished by the World Bank. 2013 edition is available via eBrary.
- The Global Competitiveness ReportPublished by the World Economic Forum. Includes country profiles and rankings. Available online from 2008/09 to the present.
CD-ROM
- Industrial Statistics Database; United Nations Industrial Development OrganizationUNIDO, the United Nations Industrial Development Organization, publishes "[s]tatistics on major indicators of industrial performance by country in [] historical time series, [which] are disseminated through commercial data products on CD ROM."
The World Bank's 'Data Books'
A keyword search in the catalog for World Bank and Little Data Book generates a list of titles published by the World Bank (also known as the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development—IBRD), which provide statistics on various topics with global reach.
Sources of International Data: The OECD, the IMF, Euromonitor, etc.
- Euromonitor International: PassportProvides extensive information on countries, their economies, consumption, and output.
- Europa World This link opens in a new windowEuropa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, a source of information on world-wide affairs. The comparative statistics function allows users to choose multiple countries, and to compare them in the areas health, agriculture, industry, finance, external trade, and education.
- IMF e-Library This link opens in a new windowThe IMF (International Monetary Fund) database provides direct access to the IMF’s "periodicals, books, working papers and studies as well as data and statistical tools."
- IMF Statistical Database This link opens in a new windowThe IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators. IMF data includes:
International Financial Statistics (IFS)
Balance of Payments Statistics (BOP)
Direction of Trade Statistics (DOT)
Government Finance Statistics (GFS) - OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowThe OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) produces a wide variety of publications, covering any aspect of a country which could influence its economy, such as the health, education, migration, governance, investment, agriculture, energy, and the environment. There is a section devoted just to statistics. Note: Sawyer Library does not have access to the IEA (International Energy Agency) statistics.
OECD Factbook 2015-2016 by ISBN: 9264232567The OECD’s "statistical annual showing a wide range of key statistics for its member countries and major additional countries."
- World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new windowThe World Bank Group now provides free access to its comprehensive set of data on international living standards.
- World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new windowThe World Bank Group now provides free access to its comprehensive set of data on international living standards.
