Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
First Research (Industries) This link opens in a new window
Provides industry profiles, grouped into 11 sectors (for example: Recreation; Retail; Food & Agriculture; Services; and Technology & Communications). Many profiles cover businesses not readily found in other sources; there are also state & province profiles.
Small Business Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Includes detailed company and industry news and information.
Coffee: The Plant & the Beverage
Trang, C. (2003). Coffee. In S. H. Katz (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Food and Culture (Vol. 1, pp. 429-434). Charles Scribner's Sons.
Newton, D. E. (2014). Caffeine. In K. L. Lerner & B. W. Lerner (Eds.), The Gale Encyclopedia of Science (5th ed.). Gale.
Business Plans Handbook
Coffee House: Coffee Circus. (2005). In A. Shupe (Ed.), Business Plans Handbook (Vol. 4, pp. 97-117). Gale.
Combination Coffeehouse/Play Spot
Greenland, P. (2010). Combination Coffeehouse/Play Spot: JavaJumpz LLC. In L. M. Pearce (Ed.), Business Plans Handbook (Vol. 18). Gale.
Kubiac, B. (2014). Internet Cafe. In S. D. Hill (Ed.), Business Plans Handbook (Vol. 28, pp. 105-111). Gale.
Books on Starting a Business ('Entrepreneurship')
Starbucks. (2013). In Encyclopedia of Global Brands (2nd ed., Vol. 2, pp. 1008-1011). St. James Press.
Caribou Coffee Company, Inc.
Peippo, K., & Rothburd, C. (2017). Caribou Coffee Company, Inc. In J. P. Pederson (Ed.), International Directory of Company Histories (Vol. 189, pp. 90-96). St. James Press.
Coffee Houses and Café Society
Haine, W. S. (2004). Coffee Houses and Café Society. In G. S. Cross (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America (Vol. 1, pp. 187-189). Charles Scribner's Sons.