Last Updated: Mar 16, 2017
- If the company is public:
- Note the ticker symbol, NAICS and SIC codes, and exchange on which the company's stock is traded. Publicly traded companies are required by law to disclose financial information to the Securities and Exchange Commission, and therefore public companies are much easier to research.
- If the company is identified as being private:
- Since privately held companies are not traded on stock exchanges, they are not required to divulge any financial information, hence finding extensive information on a private company can be difficult. Business publications are often the best source of information on a private company's activities.
- Subsidiaries and Affiliates:
- Company data analysis only pertains to publicly traded, parent companies. A company's subsidiaries are not analysed individually. Try searching the parent company's annual reports, and business news and journals, for information on the activities of a subsidiary.
- LexisNexis Academic: Business: Company Dossier
Lexis identifies the company as public or private, provides the primary SIC and NAICS codes, a business description, and key competitors. Separate tabs let users create a list of companies (based on industry or location); or compare the financials of multiple companies.
- Standard and Poor's S&PNetAdvantage
This tool aims to give users the information they need to choose investment strategies. From the 'Simple Search' [Resources] > "Company Profile"
results: be sure to read the Stock Reports (+ the business description)
, the linked Industry Survey
and the "How to Analyze"
section, and take note of the links to competitors.
- Mergent Online
Mergent Online contains global business and financial information on over 15,000 domestic and international public companies. Highlights include several year's worth of annual reports and extremely detailed financial data.
The Sawyer Library has three licenses for simultaneous use of Mergent Online, therefore when ending the session, please "Logout."
- Hoovers (via Mergent Intellect)
Hoovers provides an overview, history, a description of products and operations, summary financial statistics, and a list of competitors. Use the left menu to see the view the report sections.
- Business Insights: Essentials
NOTE: In this database, when searching for a public company, it is best to search by using the company's ticker symbol.
Results may include investment reports, SWOTs
, market research, and market share reports.
- Business Source Complete
In addition to articles, BSC offers SWOTs.
There are 3 ways to find these reports:
1. Select the 'Company Information' tab
in the top banner, to use the company search form. If SWOTs are available, there will be a labeled category.
2. Run a search for the name of the company, then look in the left side bar for 'Source Types' and choose 'Show more.' Depending on the company, SWOTs may be available.
3. Point to "More" in the top blue banner, and choose Company Profiles. Some major private companies may be found here.
- International Directory of Company Histories
REF HD2721 .I63 volumes 1-74; volumes 75- electronic only.
Vol. 1 (1988) - Vol. 101 (2009) available at Gale Virtual Reference.
A multi-volume set of histories of over 7100 companies. These company histories are also contained within the Business Insights: Essentials
database. To be included, companies have to have made at least $25 million in sales and to have achieved some sort of leading influence in their industry or geographical location. Coverage includes companies that are public, private, nonprofit, state owned, and wholly owned subsidiaries and divisions that qualify for inclusion.
- MergentOnline (3 simultaneous users)
Mergent Manual series (print):Mergent Industrial Manual, Mergent International Manual,
Both Mergent Online and the print Mergent Manuals (industrial, international, bank & finance, public utility, transportation) provide a narrative and a financial history for the companies covered. The Sawyer Library has three licenses for simultaneous use of Mergent Online; when ending the session, please choose "Logout."
- Hoover's Handbook of American Business
Sawyer Reference HG4057 .A28617 2012
- Hoover's Handbook of World Business
Sawyer Reference HG4009 .H66 2011
- Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies
Sawyer Reference HG4057 .A28618 2011
All of the Hoover's Handbooks include brief snapshots of companies, with descriptive histories.