This is the "Online Dictionaries" page of the "English as a Second Language Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English as a Second Language Resource Guide  

Although intended for ESL students, this guide also points to general sources on English usage, which are useful for all of us.
Last Updated: Nov 19, 2015 URL: http://suffolk.libguides.com/content.php?pid=119069 Print Guide RSS Updates

Online Dictionaries Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search the Suffolk University Online Catalog for English Language Textbooks

Free Online Dictionaries

  • Activeds.com
    "Activeds.com is a web based free English Chinese/Chinese-English online dictionary." Although this site is intended primarily for English speakers learning Chinese, it can also be used by "Chinese native with advanced English" skills. (Accuracy has not be tested.)
  • ECTACO English - Arabic Online Dictionary
    This commercial website offers a limited version of its online dictionary for free. The full version requires purchase. (Accuracy has not be tested.)

Bilingual and English Language, Online Dictionaries

  • Oxford Reference Online: Bilingual Dictionaries

    Bilingual, online, dictionaries from Oxford University Press. Languages include French, German, Spanish, Italian, and Latin. Bilingual dictionaries of business terms are also available for French and Spanish.
  • Oxford Reference Online: English Dictionaries
    Items of note for ESL students:
    The New Oxford American Dictionary.
    The Oxford Dictionary of English.
    The Pocket Oxford American Thesaurus.
  • Credo Reference: Bilingual Dictionaries

    In addition to dictionaries for French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Spanish, and Polish, Credo Reference also includes specialized dictionaries for business (French, German, Spanish) and law (Spanish and French).
  • Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

    The ultimate source for definitions and word histories for the English language.
  • Visual English Dictionary

    This illustrated dictionary covers topics such as sports, architecture, and computing. It provides a useful way of explaining terms without relying on other hard-to-understand definitions. Access through Oxford Reference Online.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mildred F. Sawyer Library
Contact Info
617.573.8532
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip